Spook Series 2014: A Ranking

halloween dogs

HAPPY HALLOWEEN, Y’ALL!!!!!

Greetings and HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!! While I’ve finished reviewing scary movies for this month (and you can find all of those reviews here), I thought it would be nice to do something I did last year–a sort of roundup post, I guess. Last year, I called it a “Master List” (which I reblogged earlier, if you care to have a looksee), but this year, since my reviews are a mere fraction of what they were last year, I decided to rank the films I watched from my lowest grades to the best of the best. Who takes the top Spook Series prize? Check it out!

#18: The Wicker Man (1973)

Because…eh. I don’t know. Christopher Lee? Lol.

My Grade: D

wicker man christopher lee

#17: Event Horizon (1997)

Because Laurence Fishburne. Laurence Fishburne is all.

My Grade: C

event horizon laurence fishburne

#16: Teen Wolf (1985)

Because Michael J. Fox is the man–erm, I mean, the WOLF.

My Grade: B-

teen wolf michael j fox

#15: The Innkeepers (2011)

Because likable leads and a spooky ghost.

My Grade: B-

innkeepers gost

#14: American Psycho (2000)

Because Christian Bale is a creepy sumbitch.

My Grade: B

american psycho christian bale

#13: Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer (1986)

Because Michael Rooker is surprisingly likable as a psycho.

My Grade: B

henry michael rooker

#12: 28 Weeks Later (2007)

Because lots of action and LOADS of zombies.

My Grade: B

28 weeks later zombies

#11: The Addams Family (1991)

Because plenty of laughs and an awesome cast.

My Grade: B

addams family cast

#10: Trollhunter (2010)

Because trolls can be scary (and very fun).

My Grade: B

trollhunter troll

#9: Dawn of the Dead (1978)

Because some of the main actors are from INDIANA…and they’re just great in general.

My Grade: B+

dawn of the dead 1978 cast

#8: The Return of the Living Dead (1985)

Because pure, tongue-in-cheek hilarity.

My Grade: B+

return of the living dead brains

#7: Creepshow (1982)

Because you can never go wrong with Stephen King and George A. Romero.

My Grade: B+

creepshow stephen king

#6: Chronicle (2012)

Because a great young cast a surprisingly touching end (sniffle).

My Grade: B+

chronicle dehaan

#5: The Birds (1963)

Because HITCHCOCK.

My Grade: A-

the birds attack

#4: Dawn of the Dead (2004)

Because it’s even better than the original (sorry, Mutant).

My Grade: A-

dawn of the dead 2004 zombies

#3: The Thing (1982)

Because it’s a blast and everything an ’80s sci-fi-horror should be.

My Grade: A-

the thing monster

#2: Aliens (1986)

Because ELLEN MOTHER%$#*ING RIPLEY.

My Grade: A

aliens ripley

#1: Jaws (1975)

Because duhhhhdun. Duhhhhhhhdun. DUNDUNDUNDUNDUN CHOMP!!!

My Grade: A

jaws attack

Okay, now I’m REALLY done with Spook Series. Pinkie swear. Because I’ve got to turn my sights to another very important endeavor: NOOOOvember 2014!!! And it’s not too late to participate! If you’d like to contribute to the series (which you can read about here), just send a write-up (or video or whatever) to caragale123@gmail.com by or before Monday (Nov. 3). And, as always, if you can’t get something to me by then, I will accept stuff after that, but, if you wouldn’t mind, just shoot me an email letting me know that you intend to participate so I can plan accordingly. Anyway, have a SPOOKTASTIC Halloween and a lovely weekend! I’ll see you on Monday with a heaping helping of NOOOOvember disappointment. 😀

16 thoughts on “Spook Series 2014: A Ranking

  1. Cara!

    1. A list. A RANKED list. You’d be the girl of my dreams! If, like, I was a boy.
    2. Nothing beats Aliens, though! Even Jaws (although Jaws freaking rules, yes)
    3. The original Dawn of the Dead is way too low & Chronicle is way too high, but…
    4. You’ve ranked all the movies you watched & made a list of them so I still totally love you! 🙂

  2. Yay! So I just submitted you an email with my NOOOOvember Entry, hoping it wasn’t too late. And by reading this here post, I can see that it isn’t! *Phew*

    I love these choices, and your choices from last year too. Really good idea to sum all these up this way. Sounds like you’ve had a much MUCH busier month of scary movies than I have. I think I saw about five horrors total. Lol and those were mostly repeat viewings for TBT. 🙂

    • Yaaayyy NOOOOvember!! Excited to get your write-up posted, amigo!! 🙂

      I go a little scary movie crazy during October. Lol. I just can’t help it! I love getting into the spirit of it all. And hey, nothing wrong with some good throwback viewings! Sometimes, the familiar is best for Halloween. I know I couldn’t make it through the month without at least one Hocus Pocus viewing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

