Blogiversary Bash 2015: Film Grimoire

I Googled "1973 party" and this came up. Party on, you strawberry-loving hippies.

I Googled “1973 party” and this came up. Party on, you strawberry-loving hippies.

Guys…is it seriously July??? This year is officially half over, and I am astounded. Like, shouldn’t it still be January? …But I digress. The purpose of today’s post is not at all to mourn the passing of half the year, but to vigorously celebrate the appearance of yet another superb Blogiversary Bash guest blogger!! Today, I have an absolutely fantastic lady from an equally fantastic blog. I am talking, of course, about Miss Anna from Film Grimoire. Anna has been amazing enough to participate in a lot of my little blogathons, so I’m sure you’re familiar with her site, but if you’re not…Well, it’s the bee’s knees, and you have to go follow her right away to see her Game of Thrones recaps and movie reviews and blogathon write-ups and so much more. Anyway, let’s turn it over to Anna because I can’t wait for you to hear about her awesome idea for this post! 😀

1973

When Cara announced that the 2nd Blogiversary Bash was coming up, my first instinct was to congratulate the lovely lady. But my second instinct was to reflect on what I could write for such an occasion. A little while ago I actually realised that the year of 1973 was when a number of my favourite films were released, and since the Blogiversary Bash is all about celebrating your favourite things, what better occasion to celebrate the year of these excellent films!

Without further ado, in order to celebrate the cinematically spectacular year of 1973, please find below five one-sentence reviews of five of my favourite films from this very special year.

cara-a

Amarcord
Surreal and humorous, Frederico Fellini’s visually beautiful critique of Italian social nuances is a must watch; the storytelling is effortless, the direction is perfect and the resulting combination of the two is stunning.

cara-te

The Exorcist
One of the most iconic and nightmare-inducing horror films of all time with its disturbing content, killer direction and amazing soundtrack, The Exorcist is such a classic, and who could ever resist the lure of green projectile vomit?

cara-thm

The Holy Mountain
Probably my favourite film of all time and one of director Alejandro Jodorowsky’s premier works of genius, there is literally no other film like this in existence; it is a truly individual work of surreal, provocative, and highly symbolic art.

cara-lald

Live and Let Die
My favourite Bond film, this cheesy tale of espionage with a blaxsploitation twist is just the beginning of Roger Moore’s campy efforts as the not-so-secret secret agent.

cara-twm

The Wicker Man
This film is so unsettling and creepy in a subtle way, I love its themes of the druid religion and the slow building of paranoia throughout; infinitely better than the lame yet hilarious 2006 remake.

Do you guys find that there are particular years in time when a whole bunch of your favourite films are released? If so let us know below!

30 thoughts on “Blogiversary Bash 2015: Film Grimoire

  1. Great post Anna!! Did you know that I was two when all of those movies came out? Huh huh???

    #twosies
    #postsies

  2. Great post, Anna! Great films, too. 1973 was a good year. And I wasn’t even born yet! Woohoo! FINALLY! I almost feel young! 😉 I keep meaning to watch The Holy Mountain… Want to watch El Topo first, though. 🙂

  3. Anna… please never insult the Wicker Man in my presence again. It is cinematic genius at its finest. “How’d it get burned? How’d it get burned?” 😉

  4. Pingback: Cara’s Blogiversary Bash: My Favourites of 1973 | FILM GRIMOIRE

  5. Interesting. I haven’t seen ‘The Exorcist’ & ‘The Holy Mountain’. I’ve seen the other three.
    Federico Fellini’s ‘Amarcord’ was a near excellent movie. ‘The Wicker Man’ man quite good as well (I wouldn’t bother watching the re-make), but am surprised to see ‘Live and Let Die’ mentioned here. It’s not a bad movie, but it’s not that good either.
    But that’s not the reason I was surprised to see that in this list. Just going through your list of surreal/ horror films, ‘Live and Let Die’ seems like the Odd One Out.
    None the less a nice post. You might like my post on ‘The Year 1966’, from last month.
    That was an interesting year for films as well, the year dubbed ‘Nineteen Sexty Sex’ !!!!

  6. Pingback: July 2015 Favourites | FILM GRIMOIRE

Leave a comment