Resolutions 2016: The Back to the Future Trilogy

back to the future 1.5

Greetings, folks! Well, I started my Resolutions series yesterday with this post about Rocky–yes, I finally watched Rocky–and today it continues with a lovely guest! The wonderful Miss Ashley of Box Office Buzz is here to fulfill one of her film resolutions, and it’s a pretty great choice if I do say so myself. Have you been over to see Ashley’s blog? If not, you’re gonna need to remedy that. She’s got all kinds of great movie goodness over there, so be sure to give her a visit. Anyway, let’s hear what she has to say about her resolution!

Resolutions: Back to the Future trilogy

By Ashley Pauls/Box Office Buzz

https://boxofficebuzzab.wordpress.com/

Although I love watching and blogging about movies, I actually didn’t get serious about this hobby until college. Which means that there are some, well, embarrassing gaps in my movie repertoire: the films every movie buff is supposed to have seen but I haven’t watched yet. 😉 One of these gaps came to my attention late last year when everybody was excited about how Oct. 21, 2015, was the day Marty McFly traveled to the future in the second “Back to the Future” movie. And that made me I realize I hadn’t ever sat down and watched any of the films in this classic sci-fi/comedy trilogy all the way through. I decided it was definitely time to remedy that, and so over the holidays I picked a weekend and watched the “Back to the Future” trilogy.

Most film fans are familiar with the premise of “Back to the Future,” which follows the adventures of a teenager named Marty McFly (Michael J. Fox) and his eccentric mentor Dr. Emmett “Doc” Brown (Christopher Lloyd). In the first film, Marty travels back in time to the 1950s and interferes with this parents’ past; he has to set things right again to make sure that his parents do fall in love and get married (and that he and his siblings are born). In the second film, Marty travels to the future and accidentally messes up his own timeline again. The final film is set in the Wild West, and Marty has to save Doc from an unfortunate fate.

back to the future 3

These films were released in the late 1980s/early 1990s, and while the look of the films comes across as just a bit dated sometimes, that’s actually part of their charm. They’re a 1980s pop culture time capsule, and the premise is tons of fun. Michael J. Fox is great as the likeable but sometimes unlucky Marty; he means well, but sometimes his meddling in the past (and future) does more harm than good.

Doc is another great character; he’s quirky but has a good heart, and I enjoyed his friendship with Marty. My husband and I joked about how what if Doc was actually one of the regenerations of the Doctor from the TV show “Doctor Who” — he’s eccentric, has a time machine, invents devices to save people at the last minute, and travels with a companion. Anyway, I’m sure people have probably written tons of fan fiction about Doc as the Doctor already. 😉 Doc’s time-traveling DeLorean is almost a character in its own right; it’s a fun, unconventional time machine.

I think my favorite of the movies is the first one; it’s hard to beat the original concept. I liked watching Marty interact with his parents in the past and seeing how he manages to get his timeline back on track just in the nick of time. It’s interesting to think about how small, seemingly insignificant events can have a major impact on our lives, even though we don’t know it at the time (like the decision to sit next to a certain person in class, and you later date and marry that person — an event that may never have happened if you’d chosen another seat). My next favorite of the movies is the third one, set in the Wild West. The first two movies have a similar setting, so it was nice to see something different in the final movie.

The second one is probably my least favorite, simply because the “future” portrayed in that movie still feels a little too much like the ‘80s (though I’m sure some of our current futuristic films will feel dated someday as well). 😉 I also thought that the second half of the movie, which sends Marty back to the 1950s again, seemed a little too much like a rehash of the first movie.

Anyway, I’m glad I finally got around to watching this classic trilogy, and now that I’ve seen it once I would definitely like to see it again.

Thanks so much, Ashley! Gotta say, I’m pretty relieved you’ve seen these now. They’re definitely a must. 😉 More excellent resolutions on the way, so get ready!!

11 thoughts on “Resolutions 2016: The Back to the Future Trilogy

  1. Pingback: Resolutions 2016: The Back to the Future Trilogy | Box Office Buzz

Leave a Reply

