Blogiversary Bash 2015: Drew’s Movie Reviews

Dr. Evil joins today’s quote celebration.

Howdy and HAPPY FRIDAY!!! Has this week seemed forever long to you guys? Maybe it’s just because I took some extra time off last week. Whatever the case, it’s over, and I have a positively delightful way to end the week: with another superb Blogiversary Bash guest! Today’s guest is the awesome Mr. Drew of Drew’s Movie Reviews. Drew’s site is fantastic and filled with all kinds of movie goodness. If you don’t follow him already, you need to change that, silly! Anyway, Drew is here to share his love of something I am quite fond of myself: movie quotes. He’s got a big ol’ list, too, so strap in and “hold on to your butts!” 😉

When Cara announced her Blogiversary Bash, it didn’t take long for me to come up with something to help celebrate. If you know me at all, you know that I love movie quotes. I started with wanting to do a short list of a few of my favorites, but I kept adding to it and quickly my list spiraled out of control. So to celebrate Cara’s two year blogging anniversary, here are some of my favorite film quotes. I’m sure, nay, I know there are many quotes missing from this list but this is what I could think of from the top of my head. So please feel free to add to this list in the comments. Congrats on the milestone, Cara! I can’t wait to see what year 3 brings you.

“You have the right to remain an attorney.” Jenko (Channing Tatum), 21 Jump Street

“One particle of unobtainium has a nuclear reaction with the flux capacitor – carry the ‘2’ – changing its atomic isotoner into a radioactive spider. Fuck you, Science!” Jenko (Channing Tatum), 21 Jump Street

“This. Is. Sparta!” King Leonidus (Gerard Butler), 300

“Give them nothing but take from them everything.” King Leonidus (Gerard Butler), 300

“Spartans, ready your breakfast and eat hearty, for tonight we dine in Hell!” King Leonidus (Gerard Butler), 300

“First of all, you throwin’ too many big words at me, and because I don’t understand them, I’m gonna take ’em as disrespect.” Smart Tech Customer (Kevin Hart), The 40 Year Old Virgin

“Don’t cry baby. Knew this was one way ticket, but you know I had to come. Love you wife.” Virgil (Ed Harris), Abyss

“Some political crap. I got a 0 on my SATs.” Glen (Adam Herschman),  Accepted

“Ask me about my wiener!” Sherman Schrader (Jonah Hill),  Accepted

“You’d better tell the Captain we’ve got to land as soon as we can. This woman has to be gotten to a hospital.” “A hospital? What is it?” “It’s a big building with patients, but that’s not important right now.” Rumak (Leslie Nielsen) and Elaine (Julie Hagerty), Airplane!

“I am serious. And don’t call me Shirley.” Rumack (Leslie Nielsen), Airplane!

“Ten thousand years will give you such a crick in the neck.” Genie (Robin Williams), Aladdin

“Boy, that escalated quickly. I mean, that really got out of hand fast.” Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrill), Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

“Sixty percent of the time, it works every time.” Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd), Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

“You know, I have one simple request and that is to have sharks with frickin’ laser beams attached to their heads.” Dr. Evil (Mike Meyers), Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery

“Doth mother know you weareth her drapes?” Tony Stark (Robert Downey, Jr.), The Avengers

“Scubba Steve, damn you!” Sonny (Adam Sandler), Big Daddy

“Float like a Cadillac, sting like a Beemer.” Lightning McQueen (Own Wilson), Cars

“I believe whatever doesn’t kill you, simply makes you… stranger.” The Joker (Heath Ledger), The Dark Knight

“Why so serious?” The Joker (Heath Ledger), The Dark Knight

“You either die a hero, or live long enough to see yourself become the villain.” Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckart), The Dark Knight

“Some men aren’t looking for anything logical, like money. They can’t be bought, bullied, reasoned or negotiated with. Some men just want to watch the world burn.” Alfred Pennyworth (Michael Caine), The Dark Knight

“Yippee-ki-yay, motherfucker.” John McClane (Bruce Willis), Die Hard

“Isn’t that convenient for you. And the clock.” White Goodman (Ben Stiller), Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story

“Nobody makes me bleed my own blood. Nobody!” White Goodman (Ben Stiller), Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story

“It’s a bold strategy, Cotton. Let’s see if it pays off for them.” Pepper Brooks (Jason Bateman), Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story

“’L’ for love!” Gordon (Stephen Root), Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story

“Yeah I called her up, she gave me a bunch of crap about me not listenin’ to her enough, or somethin’. I don’t know, I wasn’t really payin’ attention.” Harry Dunne (Jeff Daniels), Dumb and Dumber

“So you’re telling me there’s a chance.” Lloyde Chrismas (Jim Carey), Dumb and Dumber

“You look like a stripper.” “A high end stripper, for governors or athletes.” Rosemary (Patricia Clarkson) and Dill (Stanley Tucci), Easy A

“You threw off my groove!” Kuzco (David Spade), The Emperor’s New Groove

“It doesn’t matter if you win by an inch or a mile. Winning’s winning.” Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel), The Fast and the Furious

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick), Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

“You can’t handle the truth!” Col. Jessup (Jack Nicholson), A Few Good Men

“It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything.” Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt), Fight Club

“He touched the butt.” Sheldon (Erik Per Sullivan), Finding Nemo

“Just keep swimming.” Dory (Ellen DeGeneres), Finding Nemo

“It’s like he’s trying to speak to me, I know it.” Marlin (Albert Brooks), Finding Nemo

“He turned down a blow job from his ex-girlfriend, mid-blowjob. You know how hard that is for a man?” Dwayne the Bartender (Da’Vone McDonald), Forgetting Sarah Marshall

“Never give up. Never surrender.” Jason Nesmith (Tim Allen), Galaxy Quest

“I think it’s only fair to warn you, this facility is surrounded by a highly trained team of 130 Black Op Snipers. Would you believe two dozen Delta Force Commandos? How about Chuck Norris with a BB gun?” Maxwell Smart (Steve Carell), Get Smart

“Well, that is a sucker punch to the gonads.” Maxwell Smart (Steve Carell), Get Smart

“I’m going to make him an offer he can’t refuse.” Don Corleone (Marlon Brando), The Godfather

“There are many things my father taught me here in this room. He taught me: keep your friends close, but your enemies closer.” Michael Corleone (Al Pacino), The Godfather: Part II

“You don’t know about real loss, ’cause that only occurs when you love something more than you love yourself.” Sean Maguire (Robin Williams), Good Will Hunting

“I’m distracting ya, you big turd blossom.” Star Lord (Chris Pratt), Guardians of the Galaxy

“I’m not supposed to be within two hundred feet of a school… or a Chuck E. Cheese.” Alan (Zach Galifianakis), The Hangover

“Paging Dr. Faggot!” Phil (Bradley Cooper), The Hangover

“It’s not illegal. It’s frowned upon, like masturbating on an airplane.” Alan (Zach Galifianakis), The Hangover

It’s not a purse, it’s called a satchel.” Alan (Zach Galifianakis), The Hangover

“Somebody call IX-I-I!” -Panic disguised as little kid, Hercules

“For a true hero isn’t measured by the size of his strength, but by the strength of his heart.” Zeus (Rip Torn), Hercules

“Life is not the amount of breaths you take, it’s the moments that take your breath away.” Hitch (Will Smith), Hitch

Is it true that there’s a point on a man’s head where if you shoot it, it will blow up?” Danny (Nick Frost), Hot Fuzz

“You mustn’t be afraid to dream a little bigger, darling.” Eames (Tom Hardy), Inception

“I never look back, darling. It distracts from the now.” Edna Mode (Brad Bird), The Incredibles

“It’s not the years, honey, it’s the mileage.” -Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford), Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark

“You’re gonna need a bigger boat.” Brody (Roy Scheider), Jaws

“Welcome to Jurassic Park” -John Hammond (Richard Attenborough), Jurassic Park

“Hold onto your butts.” -Ray Arnold (Samuel L. Jackson), Jurassic Park

“Oh, yeah. Oooh, ahhh, that’s how it always starts. Then later there’s running and um, screaming.” Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum), The Lost World: Jurassic Park

“Violence and technology, not good bedfellows.” Eddie Carr (Richard Schiff), The Lost World: Jurassic Park

“I’m getting too old for this shit.” Roger Murtaugh (Danny Glover), Lethal Weapon

“Hakuna Matata” Timon (Nathan Lane), The Lion King

“Oh yes, the past can hurt. But from the way I see it, you can either run from it, or… learn from it.” Rafiki (Robert Guillaume), The Lion King

“Ariel, listen to me. The human world is a mess.” Sebastian (Samuel E. Right), The Little Mermaid

“A man’s got to know his limitations.” Harry Callahan (Clint Eastwood), Magnum Force

“Unfortunately, no one can be told what the Matrix is. You have to see it for yourself. This is your last chance. After this, there is no turning back. You take the blue pill, the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill, you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit hole goes. Remember, all I’m offering is the truth. Nothing more.” Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne), The Matrix

“The thing is, Bob, it’s not that I’m lazy, it’s that I just don’t care.” Peter Gibbins (Ron Livingston), Office Space

“I did absolutely nothing, and it was everything that I thought it could be.” Peter Gibbins (Ron Livingston), Office Space

“What would you say… you do here?” Bob Slydell (John. C. McGinley), Office Space

“Are you a Mexi-CAN or a Mexi-CAN’T?” Agent Sands (Johnny Depp), Once Upon a Time in Mexico

“You underestimate my sneakiness, sir.” Emilio (John Turturro), Mr. Deeds

“What? What do you mean you’re not lucky? You lied to me? And what are you, a sheep?” Mushu (Eddie Murphy), Mulan

“You are without a doubt the worst pirate I have ever heard of.” Norrington (Jack Davenport), Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

“There will come a time when you have a chance to do the right thing.” “I love those moments. I like to wave at them as they pass by.” Elizabeth Swan (Kiera Knightly) and Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp), Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest

“Sometimes you gotta say “What the fuck”, make your move.” Miles (Curris Armstrong), Risky Business

“Your grandfather once told me it was ok to think about what you want to do until it was time to start doing what you were meant to do.” Jim Morris, Sr. (Brian Cox), The Rookie

“Say hello to my little friend!” Tony Montana (Al Pacino), Scarface

“I have been touched by your kids and I’m pretty sure that I’ve touched them.” Dewey Finn (Jack Black), School of Rock

“Get busy living, or get busy dying.” Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins), The Shawshank Redemption

“Here’s Johnny.” Jack Torrence (Jack Nicholson), The Shining

“That’s why they call them crushes. If they were easy, they’d call ’em something else.” Jim Baker (Paul Dooley), Sixteen Candles

“I’m a Mog: half man, half dog. I’m my own best friend!” Barf (John Candy), Spaceballs

“I bet she gives great helmet.” Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis), Spaceballs

“May the Force be with you.” Everyone, Star Wars

“Do or do not. There is no ‘try.’” Yoda (Frank Oz), Star Wars: Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

“Did we just become best friends?” Brennan (Will Ferrell), Step Brothers

“We’re here to fuck shit up!” Dale (John C. Reilly), Step Brothers

“Go ahead, make my day.” Harry Callahan (Clint Eastwood), Sudden Impact

“I am McLovin.” Fogell (Christopher Mintz-Plasse), Superbad

“I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills. Skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now that’ll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you and I will kill you.” Bryan Mills (Liam Neeson), Taken

“If you ain’t first, you’re last” Ricky Bobby (Will Ferrell), Talledega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby

“Holy Schnike!” Tommy Callahan III (Chris Farley), Tommy Boy

“I can’t hear you, you’re trailing off. And did I hear a ‘niner’ in there? Were you calling from a walkie-talkie?” Richard (David Spade), Tommy Boy

“I feel the need…” “The need for speed.” Maverick (Tom Cruise) and Goose (Anthony Edwards), Top Gun

“To infinity and beyond.” Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen), Toy Story

“You are a sad strange little man. And you have my pity.” Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen), Toy Story

“How do you spell FBI?” Rex (Wallace Shawn), Toy Story 2

“People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.” V (Hugo Weaving), V for Vendetta

“Rule #1: Never Leave a Fellow Crasher Behind.” John Beckwith (Owen Wilson), The Wedding Crashers

“Yeah, it could have been the soft mattress. Or the midnight rape. Or the nude gay art show that took place in my room. One of those probably added to the lack of sleep.” Jeremy Grey (Vince Vaughn), The Wedding Crashers

“That is a man’s head.” Jim West (Will Smith), Wild Wild West

“What were you expecting? Yellow spandex?” Cyclops (James Marsden), X-Men

29 thoughts on “Blogiversary Bash 2015: Drew’s Movie Reviews

  1. Where I can I send you my entry? I remember having a discussion with you about it and I’d do it in the next couple of days, but i can’t remember where you wanted me to send it!!

    • Anchorman has some great quotes. I haven’t seen it in a while so these were only a few that I could really remember. Those lists of yours are awesome, too!

    • Stepbrothers is so quotable! John C. Reilly and Will Ferrell play off each other so well. The drum set scene gets me every time. Another good one from Napoleon Dynamite: “Freakin’ idiot.”

Leave a Reply

