A Tribute to Christopher Lee

christopher lee

Hey, guys. So I’d intended to post something else today, but in the midst of work and moving to my new apartment and all of that craziness, I got a bit of a shock–the wonderful Sir Christopher Lee apparently passed away a few days ago. Really, it shouldn’t have been a shock. The man was 93 years old. Even so, he just seemed like one of those staples of movies, you know? One of those people you always expect to see lurking around onscreen as the deep-voiced, sinister such-and-such out to cause trouble. Anyway, I wanted to take some time to honor him today with a little something.

When I got to thinking about it, I realized that Lee really was kind of a hero among horror movie nerds–especially since he got to play Count Dracula…

…and an evil Jedi…

…and he was in all sorts of Tim Burton movies…

christopher lee sleepy hollow

christopher lee dark shadows

…and he was in The Wicker Man (which I don’t love, but I know a lot of people do)…

…and he was a golden-gunned Bond villain…

…and my absolute, 100% personal favorite, was his Saruman the White, evil wizard extraordinaire.

These are just a few of the many awesome things Lee did. What will you guys remember him by?

Anyway, R.I.P. Christopher Lee. You will be sorely missed. 😦

On a lighter note, as you lovely people read this, I am currently getting my new place in order! Wish me luck and have an excellent weekend!

31 thoughts on “A Tribute to Christopher Lee

  1. Good luck, Cara Gale!!

    Say – for your bloggyversary thing – does it have to be a movie? I have an idea for a TV show (and no, not the one It has been working on)

    • I feel like I have so much more to learn about him! I just know that ever since I saw him beat the crap out of poor Ian McKellen in Fellowship, I have loved him. ❤

  2. A wonderful tribute; he was a towering figure of the screen – literally and figuratively. I only found out this week he had been a special commando in the war and after the war hunted down Nazi war criminals. Plus he played heavy metal music! The dude was cool long before people started talking about cool dudes. i hope that he and his old friends Peter Cushing and Vincent Price are enjoying a little afterlife reunion … better to say an undead get-together???

    • Omigosh!!! That’s freaking amazing!!! I always knew he was an awesome person, but I had no idea he was THAT awesome. I’m going to have to do some research on him. I feel like I’ve only scratched the surface. Thank you so much for filling me in!!

  3. Yep, can’t think of too many better 21st century cinema villains than Saruman. Lee is perfect in the role. Very sad, but what a wonderful film portfolio he’s left behind!

    Adam.

    • I didn’t even know he was into that before he passed! It’s super sad, but if nothing else I’m grateful to hear all of these awesome things about him now. He really was an amazing dude.

Leave a Reply

