Premiere Particulars: Game of Thrones

game of thrones s5

Good day, friends! Sorry for the lack of post yesterday—had a weekend away, and I got mixed up on some dates for a couple of very important upcoming reblogs, so, sadly, that left me with nada. Gonna make up for it by posting next Sunday, so look out! 😉 If I’m being completely honest, I probably could’ve scraped something together Sunday night for a Monday post…but, as evidenced by this post, I had some very, very important TV-watching to do. Y’all, Game of Thrones is back. Let’s talk about that premiere.

game of thrones s5 3

What I liked:

  • There’s a scene between Cersei (Lena Headey) and Jamie (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) that’s almost a déjà vu moment. It involves a very similar setting and situation from an episode last year, though, fortunately, the same things don’t happen…If you’ve seen season four, there’s a good chance you know what I’m talking about. Anyway, it’s just interesting to see how things in this show come full circle—a grim, never-ending cycle. Ah, Game of Thrones. What a pick-me-up you are. Haha.
  • Tyrion’s (Peter Dinklage) predicament-turned-opportunity. The ever-enigmatic Varys (Conleth Hill) apparently has big plans for grumpy Tyrion, who clearly just wants to drink himself into oblivion (per usual). But when Varys presents Tyrion with a very interesting opportunity, he perks up a little. I’ll give you a hint: it presents the possibility of two awesome characters coming face-to-face for the first time. We’ll see if it actually follows through. GoT has a nasty habit of dangling something in front of us then ripping it away (i.e. Arya almost making it to the Red Wedding).
  • Trouble is brewing in Mereen! Everyone’s favorite Khaleesi/Mother of Dragons, Daenerys (Emilia Clarke), finds herself dealing with a mysterious, gold-masked assassin that could cause trouble in the city. I have full confidence that Dany will handle it with her usual level of badassery, but with her dragons still being angsty, who knows what could happen…
  • Jon Snow (Kit Harington) manages to set up a bit of trouble for himself at the end of this episode. After being forced to endure a grim decision by would-be king Stannis (Stephen Dillane), Jon rebels a little. This little act of rebellion probably won’t turn out well for dear Jon, which is a shame because it’s actually a very satisfying moment for viewers. Poor Jon Snow just knows nothing. (Sidenote: If you haven’t seen this video of Jon Snow as the most awkward dinner guest ever, you must change this. Now.)
  • Basically, this episode does a great job setting up for what’s sure to be an epic season. We spend a sufficient amount of time with almost every major character—long enough to hint at awesome things to come. After all, winter is coming…

game of thrones s5 2

What I didn’t like:

  • The very random flashback at the beginning of the episode. I kind of understand why it was included, but I didn’t find it necessary. Like, at all. Why spend time going over stuff we pretty much already know when we can be seeing more important things like dragons or White Walkers or sassy dwarves?!
  • I know she’s probably very important to the GoT story as a whole, but I am so over crazy fire lady Melisandre (Carice van Houten). Every time I see her, I find myself annoyed. If she must be lurking around, let’s do something more interesting with her character. Fast.
  • There is a notable absence in this episode: kickass little Arya (Maisie Williams). I’m sure she’ll pop up in the next episode (because Arya), but it was a little sad not to see what she was up to. Oh, and Theon (Alfie Allen). Erm. I mean Reek. I mean…What are we calling him now? Whatever. I’m a little curious to see what he and his sadistic buddy Ramsay (Iwan Rheon) have been up to. Hmm. On second thought, maybe I don’t want to know that last bit…
  • If you’re looking for an action-packed episode, you might be disappointed. GoT tends to do this though—they start with a pretty mild first episode to put things in motion, and then a few episodes in it all gets crazy. Or they might just hit us with a second-episode shocker like they did with the Purple Wedding…but I won’t ruin that for those of you who aren’t caught up. 😉

The Potential: Per usual, the potential for this season of Game of Thrones is sky-high. I don’t feel that this is the strongest first episode (for me, that honor probably goes to last season’s premiere), but there’s plenty being set up that could be veeeeery interesting as the story goes along. Also, I am terrified for each and every beloved character because the showrunners have basically said that no one is safe—not even characters that are still alive in the books. But that grim reality that anyone could go at anytime is what keeps this show so damn interesting and nerve-wracking and wonderful all at once. So bring it on, Westeros. I’ll keep my shock blanket handy.

shock blanket

My Grade: A-

19 thoughts on “Premiere Particulars: Game of Thrones

  1. Cara!

    Not the best episode ever but I’ll take what I can get. Where you able to get your tiny hands on some of that Game of Thrones beer I showed you?

  2. I really liked this episode, although I feel the same about Melisandre-I find her so boring. Hopefully her or Stannis will die this season-preferably burned at the stake like they made their victims do. Can’t wait to see what Tyrion gets up to this season-should be interersting.

    • Omg right?? Melisandre is definitely one of my least favorite characters. Unfortunately, I could see her sticking around awhile, especially since this light religion thing seems to be gaining ground. :/ We’ll see I guess. I am crossing all of my fingers and toes that Tyrion gets to meet Dany. That would be amazing. 😀

  3. Great write-up Cara! I loved the flashback to Cersei as a child because I love Cersei in general, I’m hoping they actually elaborate on it a bit more because it was quite different in the books, and kind of more significant. Good episode though. Can’t wait for the next one! And can’t wait to see Arya, her story should be awesome this season if they adapt it properly.

    • Hmm. If that Cersei flashback is expanded upon, then maybe I’d be more okay with it. I mean, it kind of explains some of her behavior, but it just felt like we were hearing stuff we basically already knew. We’ll see. I also haven’t read any but the first book, so I’m sure I’d appreciate it more if I had. I’m excited to see Arya and her little badass self! Although I’m definitely going to miss her weird friendship with the Hound. :/

  4. Woohoo! Game of fucking THRONES! I’m sorry… Why do I swear on your blog so much?!?! 😉 I love Daenerys so much. Like, I want to BE her, dammit. What’s her face fire woman gets on my nerves as well. Can’t wait to read all your Game of Thrones posts now!!! 🙂

    • Bahaha. You’re corrupting my blog, dammit!!! 😉 Dany is the best. The other day I took some Buzzfeed quiz to determine what badass GoT lady I was, and I wanted to be her sooooo badly…but I got Cersei!!! Like, how the heck am I anything like that?!?! Oh well. Cersei will probably outlive them all. Melisandre needs to bite it. Soon. But I doubt she will. She creates too much conflict to die. :/ Unfortunately, this will probably be the only GoT episode I go into detail about…but I’m sure I’ll reference it and bring up silly videos about it a lot!! Lol.

      • Lol! Yeah… I don’t really get a bitchy Cersei vibe from you. That quiz must have been able to sense your Dark Cara side! Aww – well, I look forward to anything GoT-related that you post! 🙂

  5. I can;t read this because I haven’t watched the episode because I was on holiday… and I kind of don’t know how I am going to catch-up because I cancelled my cable…

  6. I freaking LOVE that gif!

    Game of Thrones does tend to have a few freaking insane episodes and then a bit of lull everywhere else. Still a great show, and definitely looking forward to seeing what will come of this.

    • Bahaha I thought some people might appreciate the shock blanket gif. 😉 Oh GoT is still TOTALLY a great show. This was still a very good episode. I think you will enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

