April Fools 2015: Cara’s Top 5 Twist Endings

april fools brace yourselves

Good day, everyone, and welcome to APRIL FOOLS!!!! …I mean, not that April Fools…Well, actually, yes, that April Fools, too, but…Let’s start over. Welcome to my April Fools blog series, which I’m calling April Fools for a number of reasons that I’d like to believe are very clever (even though they’re probably not). See, last year I ran an April Fools blog series that was all about lovable idiots of film and television (and you can read all about them in the April Fools Archives), but this year I’m using the same title to talk about something completely different: twist endings.

We’ve all seen those movies that leave us stunned and glued to the seat, gaping at the screen long after the film’s over. They’re the kind of endings that make or break a movie. Whether you loved or loathed that ending, it inevitably leaves a lasting impression. So that’s what this series is going to be all about! I think there are a ton of great movies to choose from out there, and I can’t wait to see what everyone picks! 🙂 Anyway, thought I’d kick things off today with a little list of my own. Are any of your favorite twists below???

WARNING:

spoilers toy story

#1: Paranormal Activity 4

I don’t know about you guys, but I was shocked–SHOCKED–when Katie from the first, second, and third Paranormal Activity returned and killed everyone in the end. Going into the movie, I thought, “There is absolutely no way they would bring Katie back. They’ve already used her so much!” Imagine my COMPLETE AND UTTER SURPRISE when they did the impossible and worked her into the script…again. Pure genius. I need to know who I can thank for this. No, really–I need to know.

#2: He’s Just Not That Into You

april fools princess bride

This one…this one had me scratching my head for days. Hell, weeks, even. So, like, it’s a rom-com, right? And, obviously, all of the important characters are supposed to end up with someone, right? But in this movie, some people are actually, wait for it…NOT INTO EACH OTHER. AHHHHH WHAT IS HAPPENING???? WHAT CAN I TRUST IF I CAN’T TRUST ROM-COMS???? Excuse me for a moment. I think I’m having an anxiety attack all over again…

#3: The Hangover Part II

Guys. Who knew, I mean, who KNEW that this movie would take the exact same plot from the first movie and transplant it to Thailand??? It is literally the exact same thing all over again. I never, ever saw that coming. Well played, Hangover franchise. You have kept me on my toes. Anyway, I’d like to dedicate the above clip to this movie, as I feel it expresses my feeling toward it pretty perfectly. I only wish I could’ve found one of those ten-minute loop videos, you know? That would express my feelings much more accurately.

#4: Titanic

My heart will go on???? MY HEART WILL GO ON???? BULLSH*T!!!!!!! THERE WERE ONLY HEARTS FREEZING AND ENDING IN SUB-ZERO TEMPERATURES. I MEAN WHO THE HELL SAW THAT ICEBERG COMING???? …I’m sorry, what were you trying to say about history? Wait, I don’t care. History’s boring. But, seriously, Titanic. I mean, WHAT a surprise.

#5: Saving Private Ryan

OH MY GOD THEY SAVED PRIVATE RYAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I NEVER, EVER WOULD HAVE GUESSED FROM THE TITLE THAT THEY WOULD ACCOMPLISH THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! *brain explodes from sheer surprise of Private Ryan being saved*

…Okay, in case you haven’t figured it out by now…

kidding april fools

Yeah. I’m being a bit of a smartass today. I promise I have some legitimate twist endings coming. I just…couldn’t resist. Happy April Fools’ Day, you lot!!! 😀

april fools mr t 2

26 thoughts on “April Fools 2015: Cara’s Top 5 Twist Endings

  1. Ha. If you had praised the twist endings in The Village and Lady in the Water I would have really known.

  2. Because I was spoiler-scared, I skimmed through this, not realising it was a joke article. It seriously made me think there was a massive twist ending to ‘He’s Not That Into You’, as if it was secretly a vampire movie or something, and I hadn’t had that spoiled yet, by some miracle. Thankfully, I cottoned on by the end, before I rented it, expecting a Seven or Fight Club twist ending haha!

    • LOL. Omigod part of me can’t help wishing you wouldn’t have caught on!!! That review would’ve been amazing. Thoroughly confusing and frustrating on your part, but amazing for the rest of us.

  3. Hahahaha… I was reading this thinking I had completely misunderstood what I was supposed to be posting about. Brilliant!

  4. LOL! Wow, that was some fine entertainment. Initially I thought I would have to be skimming, and then I was like uh uh, this cannot be! xD Great read lady!

  5. Pingback: Top That: Ten Films I Don’t Mind Missing Out On | digitalshortbread

Leave a Reply

