A Tribute to Leonard Nimoy

leonard nimoy

Hey, guys. I realize this is a super delayed reaction since he passed away on Friday, but I thought it only seemed right to do something on here in honor of the incomparable Mr. Leonard Nimoy. I’m ashamed to admit that I really haven’t seen him in much, but what I knew of him, I loved, and the world just doesn’t seem right without the original Mr. Spock. So here are a few clips celebrating both his work and just who he was as a person.

The Twilight Zone

I actually had no idea Nimoy was in The Twilight Zone until I started doing a little research. He was in a 1961 episode entitled “A Quality of Mercy” in which an American soldier switches perspectives with a Japanese soldier during WWII. Nimoy isn’t the aforementioned soldier, but he’s part of the soldier’s little unit. In the clip above, he’s the one on the phone at the very beginning. I feel the need to point him out because he’s so young that he’s almost unrecognizable!

The Pagemaster

Okay, did anybody else LOVE The Pagemaster when they were little? Or, really, does anybody else STILL love The Pagemaster? Because I totally do, and I had no clue that Nimoy provided the voice for Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde until just the other day! Sadly, there are no great clips of his scene, but here’s a really terrible one some dude recorded in his living room. Like, you can see his reflection in the TV and everything. But hopefully it’ll encourage you to track down the actual film and give it a watch.

Atlantis: The Lost Empire

Okay, so Atlantis was definitely not Disney’s best effort, but is Nimoy an awesome choice for the wise old king of Atlantis, Kashekim Nedakh? Um, of course! Honestly, I haven’t seen this one in years, but watching the clip above kind of got me curious enough to give it another shot–if nothing else, just to enjoy Nimoy’s voice. 🙂

The Big Bang Theory

I’m not a regular watcher of The Big Bang Theory, but I’d heard that Nimoy’s cameo on the show was pretty perfect. Now that I’ve finally gotten around to seeing it, I’m inclined to agree. Watch Sheldon (Jim Parsons) interact with a tiny Spock figure voiced by Nimoy, and marvel at the sheer hilarity.

The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins

I feel like I’d heard about this, but, again, I’d never gotten around to watching it until recently. I love how delightfully random it is. The ’60s must’ve been a very…erm…magical time. Anyway, if you want to hear Nimoy sing about Bilbo Baggins while surrounded by ’60s ladies, by all means watch the clip above.

Fun with the Spocks

This…this might be my very favorite clip on this post. I didn’t even know it existed until I took to YouTube looking for great Nimoy clips. I think it came out around the same time Star Trek: Into Darkness premiered. Here, we get to see old Spock (Nimoy) and new Spock (Zachary Quinto) chatting on the phone, jamming in their cars, and meeting up for a round of golf. Seriously, guys, if you haven’t seen it and you consider yourself a fan of either one of these gentlemen, you have to watch it. I laughed so, so much.

Spock Meets Spock

I couldn’t resist including this moment from the 2009 Star Trek reboot. Timelines get all muddled up thanks to the villainous Nero, which allows for a completely fresh start for the new cast, but makes things kind of confusing when old Spock finds himself thrown into an alternate reality with his younger self. This is their first interaction and only interaction in the film, and it’s a pretty wonderful moment.

Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

I told myself I wasn’t going to include this moment…but I just had to. Watch with tissues nearby. *sniffle*

So there we go–some of my favorite Nimoy things. What will you guys remember about him? I wish I had more Star Trek TV/movie moments to reference. Sadly, I’ve only seen one episode (“The Trouble with Tribbles”) and one of the old movies (The Wrath of Khan), but if you have any great clips, quotes, etc. to share, feel free to put them in the comments. I’m going to end this with Nimoy’s last tweet, which sums it all up perfectly:

leonard nimoy 2

Live long and proper, everybody. ❤

23 thoughts on “A Tribute to Leonard Nimoy

    • The Bilbo Baggins song is pretty adorable. 🙂 I’d watched the Twilight Zone episode before, but I totally did not realize that was Nimoy! Love it.

  1. This is such a great tribute piece lady, love it!

    I absolutely adored the Audi clip with Nimoy and Quinto. It was hilarious and adorable!

  2. Awesome article!!! My dad introduced me to Star Trek when I was a toddler. I even watched the animated series (in it’s original run, mind you), so me and Star Trek go way, way back. I was 11 when I saw Wrath of Khan in the theater with my dad, and I remember being upset when Spock died. But, my dad said not to worry, it’s Star Trek. They’ll bring him back. Sure enough, he was right! When the reboot started, I somehow stayed away from spoilers that Leonard Nimoy was going to be in them. I was so psyched to see him in the first one. I thought that would be it. The torch was passed. But, then I was totally caught of guard in the second one.
    I had heard that Nimoy was in the Twilight Zone, but I had never seen that episode. That Big Bang Theory episode was outstanding. Sometimes it feels like they force the geek humor, but for the most part, it is a good show. The characters have great chemistry. That Spock episode was already really funny, but Nimoy’s appearance put it over the top. Classic!

    • Aw thanks!! That’s great that you have those memories with your dad. It’s kind of amazing when you think about the impact Star Trek has had on so many people. It’s easy to see why there was such a strong reaction to losing Nimoy. Admittedly, I don’t keep up with Big Bang Theory, but my parents had told me the episode with Nimoy was really funny, so I had to track down that clip. So good. They found the perfect way to work him in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

