Maleficent: does Jolie’s magic save a mediocre movie?

One more Oscar nom reblog before I call it a night! This one is all about Disney’s live-action twist on Sleeping Beauty, Maleficent, which is nominated for Best Achievement in Costume Design. As a matter of fact, the costumes, effects, and Jolie are pretty much the only parts of the film that are above average…but you can read more about that in the review. 😉

Silver Screen Serenade

maleficent

I’m not sure why, but this film struck me as one I wanted to check out almost as soon as I caught the first trailer. It’s weird though—Sleeping Beauty is one of my least favorite Disney cartoons (because let’s be real: Princess Aurora is kind of useless), and I’ve never really cared one way or the other about Angelina Jolie. Nonetheless, Maleficent found its way onto my 20 Films of 2014 list, and I made a point to go see it opening weekend.

View original post 877 more words

6 thoughts on “Maleficent: does Jolie’s magic save a mediocre movie?

Leave a Reply

