2014 Roundup

new year minions

Hello, friends, and Happy New Year’s Eve!!! Gees can you believe we’re down to the very last day of 2014?? Seems like we blinked and now it’s over. But you know what? There are a lot of things worth celebrating this year–like the many awesome movies and TV shows we saw! And, of course, it never hurts to look at the flip side of that, too. Well, maybe it hurts a little, depending on just how bad it was. Lol. Anyway, much like I did last year, I thought it’d be fun to do a little rundown of some of my favorites/least favorites of 2014. Let’s get to it!

My Top 5 Films of 2014:

grandbudapesthotel-2

  1. The Grand Budapest Hotel (A)
  2. Birdman (A)
  3. X-Men: Days of Future Past (A)
  4. Gone Girl (A)
  5. Guardians of the Galaxy (A-)

Honorable Mentions (all of which received an A-): The Lego Movie, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, The Babadook, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Interstellar, How to Train Your Dragon 2, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1, Big Hero 6, Into the Woods (review pending)

My Bottom 5 Films of 2014:

i frankenstein 2

  1. I, Frankenstein (D-)
  2. Devil’s Due (D+)
  3. Tammy (C-)
  4. Annabelle (C)
  5. Deliver Us from Evil (C)

My 5 Favorite Surprises of 2014 (films I like much more than I expected to):

eot 2

  1. Edge of Tomorrow (B+)
  2. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (A-)
  3. The Grand Budapest Hotel (A)
  4. The Maze Runner (B+)
  5. Housebound (B+)

My 5 Biggest Letdowns of 2014:

i frankenstein 3

  1. I, Frankenstein (D-)
  2. Lucy (B-)
  3. Transcendence (B-)
  4. Tammy (C-)
  5. Only Lovers Left Alive (B)

For more letdowns, just see this list or really anything from my NOOOOvember series.

My Top 5 Spook Series Films:

Jaws

  1. Jaws (A)
  2. Aliens (A)
  3. The Thing (A-)
  4. Dawn of the Dead (A-)
  5. The Birds (A-)

My Top 5 Christmas Films:

edward scissorhands 3

  1. Edward Scissorhands (A)
  2. A Christmas Story (A-)
  3. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (A-)
  4. Batman Returns (B+)
  5. How the Grinch Stole Christmas (B+)

My Top 5 6 TV Premieres (I couldn’t stand to downgrade any of these): 

hannibal pp3

  1. Hannibal (A)
  2. True Detective (A)
  3. Arrow (A)
  4. Game of Thrones (A)
  5. American Horror Story: Freak Show (A)
  6. Sherlock (A)

Honorable Mentions (all of which received an A-): The Flash, Fargo, Outlander, The Strain, Gotham

So there’s my little ranking roundup! Do with it what you will. I ought to toss up some more links for some of the awesome things have occurred here and around the blogosphere…but as I am atrociously lazy and I already covered a lot of the joy in this Blogiversary Bash post, I’ll just let you go check that out if you like.

Guys, 2014 has been a pretty rocking year. I don’t know about you, but I cannot wait to see what 2015 has in store. 😀

Now everybody raise your glasses! Ahem…

Here’s to my blogging buds! Here’s to the good movies and, yes, even the bad because they’re so much fun to hate! Here’s to binge-watching! Here’s to geeking out! Here’s to blogathons!

HERE’S TO MIGUEL!!!! …Wait, how did that get in here?! Dammit, Miguel, just let me make my toast, you attention whore!

Anyway, here’s to all of the wonderful things of 2014, and here’s to the many more wonderful things to come!!! *clink*

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!! Have a good one, ya filthy animals!!!! 😉

new years dogs

43 thoughts on “2014 Roundup

  1. Cheers to that Miss Shuster! what a year it has been indeed, I believe my second full year of “legit” blogging. (I like to distinguish that from my first year, which was basically me putting up two reviews that year, expecting a ton of activity to happen. . .but. . . .it . . . .never. .. .really happened like that. . . .lol). Now, onwards!

    Can’t wait to read more SSS in 2015

    • Ha! I remember those beginning months of blogging. It’s never quite so glamorous as you imagined when you start, eh? But just look where you are now, ya blogging superstar! 😉 Ditto–I’m eager to catch up on all that DSB goodness! Happy New Year, buddy!

  2. Great roundup Cara! Love it 🙂 I am so glad you enjoyed Housebound more than you expected to.

    #TeamEugene

    Edge of Tomorrow also surprised the hell out of me, I mean we got such a godawful trailer here I wrote it off before it even came, and then the reviews came back so positive. I went in with no expectations and I freaking LOVED it.

    I am suddenly so glad I didn’t watch I, Frankenstein!

    Here’s to an awesome 2015! Sorry I am late in catching up 😛

    • Yeah Housebound was so fun! So glad I read your and Eric’s reviews. I doubt I would’ve discovered it otherwise! 🙂

      #TeamEugeneAlways

      Yeah I thought Edge of Tomorrow was going to be super dumb, but it really was surprisingly good! Love being taken by surprise like that!

      Not watching I, Frankenstein was the best decision you ever made in 2014. Lol.

      Here’s to 2015 indeed!! And absolutely no worries, lady. I have fallen so far behind on so many things. Lol.

  3. You sure beat Woody’s round-up 🙂 A fab piece. The Christmas films is probably the only place where our lists would be very different. I like your top 6. TV has been so great recently!!!!

    • Lol! Oh I don’t know if ANYONE can beat Woody’s Roundup. 😉 My Christmas choices were very nontraditional this year. Lol. I did most of my all-time favorites last year! I have no idea what I’ll do next year! And yeah, TV is just the best right now. It’s kind of agonizing because I want to watch so much more, but I can barely keep up right now! Haha.

  4. Happy belated New Year, Cara! Okay… I’ve not seen 2 of your top five. Grand Budapest Hotel (don’t want to) and Birdman (desperate to! only just came out here and showtimes have NOT worked out for me so far. afraid I’ll miss out!) 😦

Leave a Reply

