Song and Screen: Guardians of the Galaxy Edition

singing quill

Well hello there! I’m back today with another edition of Song and Screen, but since today marks the DVD release of Guardians of the Galaxy (at least for the U.S.), I thought it would be nice to do a special S&S dedicated entirely to the music of this wonderful, ridiculously fun film. Because after I saw this, I went out and bought the CD specifically so I could jam to it in my car, and I don’t do that very much. Buy CDs, that is. I jam in my car way too much. Anyway, without further ado, let’s talk about a few of the scenes that make the Awesome Mix so very awesome. P.S. Apologies in advance for the terrible and/or severely weird quality of most of these videos. I did what I could.

#1: “Come and Get Your Love” 

Jamming to a mix tape and using space rats as a microphone. Like, what a way to get stuff going. I’ve always thought Redbone’s “Come and Get Your Love” was a fun song, but Guardians helped me to enjoy it infinitely more. My mind is now incapable of separating this song from dancing, lip-syncing Chris Pratt, and I am 100% okay with that. Also, after a fairly dramatic opening, I love that this scene pops up in all its glorious silliness to immediately lighten things up and set the tone for the whole movie. Perfection.

#2: “Hooked on a Feeling”

Nothing like Blue Swede’s “Hooked on a Feeling” to show the excitement and glamour of prison life, eh? Really though, I love this song not only as the very random yet weirdly wonderful tune accompanying the Guardians as they’re roughly thrown into the slammer, but “Hooked on a Feeling” played a major part in reeling me in from the very first trailer. I wasn’t sure what to think of this ragtag group of space weirdos, but the trailer combined with this song was what sold it. So thanks, Blue Swede. I owe you.

#3: “Fooled Around and Fell in Love”

To be completely honest, I don’t normally go for slow jams, but now that my mind has forever linked this Elvin Bishop song to Gamora’s (Zoe Saldana) hilarious term for dancing,”pelvic sorcery,” it’s impossible not to smile a little when I hear it. This is also the scene where Quill (Pratt) shares the legend of Footloose. Basically, “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” sets up for a pretty magically moment.

#4: “O-o-h Child”

There is nothing that can kill a big dramatic speech like a rude interruption. But when that interruption means stealing a villain’s thunder in the most random, hilarious way possible, then it is entirely acceptable. In this case, Quill utilizes The Five Stairsteps’ “O-o-h Child” to rock out and challenge bad guy Ronan (Lee Pace) to, of all things, a dance off. It’s like a moment straight out of the worst version of Step Up ever, and it is incredibly bizarre and out of place. But it’s also pretty darn effective at making me laugh.

#5: “I Want You Back”

BABY GROOT DANCING. BABY GROOT DANCING IS EVERYTHING. The Jackson 5’s “I Want You Back” is the closing song for the film, and it encompasses a lot of goodness, but nothing in those final moments is better than a pint-sized version of everyone’s favorite talking tree, Groot (Vin Diesel), dancing like nobody’s watching…until someone is watching. Then he gets a little bashful. It’s probably the cutest movie moment of the whole damn year. Notes: I will gladly accept a dancing baby Groot for Christmas.

Though I could go on and on, I’m gonna go ahead and call it a wrap with these five. But if you’re itching to listen to the whole soundtrack now, just go here and jam to your heart’s content. Also, I’ve included the GotG gag reel for your viewing pleasure below. Because who doesn’t love a good gag reel?

16 thoughts on “Song and Screen: Guardians of the Galaxy Edition

  1. LOL! This is such a great one! I LOVED how Pratt started singing right there in the middle of all this drama and stole the whole scene. “Subtle, taking it back.”

    This movie’s soundtrack is one of the best I have heard in a long time!

  2. I bought this CD too! First actual CD I’ve bought in YEARS. I love that this movie is introducing you kids to 70’s music as 70’s music is the BEST! Lol. 😉 Excellent post! This movie is totally deserving of having a whole music post dedicated to it. (Where’s Moonage Daydream, though?!) #Bowie 😉

    • Moonage Daydream is actually one of my favorite tracks from the film, but when it appears in the film, it doesn’t stick out as a memorable moment to me, you know? I can’t even think of when it was used…BUT I’m glad it was in the soundtrack because my Bowie awareness is sadly lacking. Between GotG and American Horror Story, I’ve been hearing all kinds of Bowie lately! 🙂

      • You’re totally right – I actually thought Moonage Daydream felt very out of place when it was used in the film (I can’t remember where exactly either – I think when a ship was flying off somewhere). But, screw it – I was just happy to hear Bowie. 😉 His stuff is in American Horror Story too?! Yay! Everyone needs a Bowie education. 🙂

Leave a Reply

