The Best of the Ice Bucket Challenges

als ice bucket challenge

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, I’m sure you’ve heard about the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. It’ been sweeping the internet and making its rounds with a ton of folks. Benefiting amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease), the Ice Bucket Challenge is pretty straightforward: you dump a bucket of ice water on your head to raise awareness for the disease. Or you can simply write a check. Or you can do both! Anyway, there are a lot of celebrity Ice Bucket Challenges to navigate out there, so I’d thought I’d provide you with a little list sharing some of my favorites approaches. Such as…

The “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle” a la Liam Hemsworth…

The “I’m Taking You Down with Me” a la Ben Affleck…

The “Give the Ladies What They Want with a White T-Shirt” a la Tom Hiddleston…

and Robert Pattinson…

and Chris Hemworth (okay, not a white t-shirt, but let’s be real–this IS what the ladies want)…

The “Surprise! I’m Pregnant!” a la Zoe Saldana…

The “Take It for the Team” a la Tom Cruise and Chris McQuarrie…

The “Reinterpretation” a la Chris Pratt…

The “Scream” a la Oprah Winfrey…

The “Proper Way” a la Chris Evans…

The “Epic” a la Hugh Jackman and the entire cast and crew of Pan…

The “Keep It Classy” a la Patrick Stewart…

The “Movie Spoof” a la musician Dave Grohl…

And then there’s the “One Bucket Challenge to Rule Them All” a la Benedict Cumberbatch. It may also be referred to simply as the “Cumberbatch.”

If you have any interest in this challenge and/or want to make a donation, just go to the ALS Association homepage for details. It’s pretty amazing that since all this ice bucket craziness began, the organization has raised more than $70 million. Awesome, hilarious videos for a good cause? That’s pretty win-win I’d say. 🙂

P.S. If you haven’t already, be sure to swing by here and vote on what Halloween movies I should watch! I’ve had lots of votes and suggestions so far, but the more the merrier!

31 thoughts on “The Best of the Ice Bucket Challenges

  1. This was awesome. I just love how Tom talks so proper. Benny is the best hands down. Chris is so adorable and Hemsworth good lord, he is gorgeous, but duh we know that. I like Ben’s too, now I have to go find Matt Damon. Thanks for posting this, just made my day better. 🙂

  2. Pingback: August 2014 Favourites | FILM GRIMOIRE

  3. Ah man, I lost so much time of my life the other day watching these videos. I loved Chris Evans’ one, and James McAvoy also had a good one. Cumberbatch has the superior one – you are spot on in your assessment, and Ian McKellen had a great one, too. Lots of fun ones to see.

Leave a Reply

