Song and Screen, Pt. 3

Oh, I'm not done with dogs as guitars. Not by a long shot. But I found meerkat as microphone, and I just...had to.

Oh, I’m not done with dogs as guitars. Not by a long shot. But I found meerkat as microphone, and I just…had to.

Well, amigos, I’d hoped to have something else ready for today, but I need a little extra time for it. So I decided to pull together another edition of Song and Screen instead. If you’ve missed it so far, you can catch Pt. 1 here, Pt. 2 here, and Zoë’s edition here. Are you ready for another round of songs I can’t hear without thinking of movies? Yes? Then let’s do this!

#1: “99 Problems” – Fright Night

Does anybody else like the 2011 Fright Night remake? Maybe it’s just because it’s the only version I’ve seen, but I quite enjoy it. Although I’m kind of in love with Anton Yelchin, so that might have something to do with it (he’s adorable). Anyway, the first time I watched Fright Night was with a friend, and as the movie ended and the credits began, this magical song played, and our minds were blown. Guys–it’s a bluegrass version of Jay-Z “99 Problems” performed by a gentleman known as Hugo. Obviously, since Fright Night introduced me to the song, there will always be a connection there. Have you guys heard this song? If not, please listen. You won’t regret it.

#2: “Tiptoe Through the Tulips” – Insidious

Tiny Tim’s “Tiptoe Through the Tulips” is already about as creepy and weird as it gets, but pair that with an equally creepy and weird movie, and you won’t ever be able to think of one without the other. Insidious uses this song a couple of times to eerie effect (go here if you’d like to see another scene where it’s used), but this is the moment I always think of: Josh (Patrick Wilson) has found his son (Ty Simpkins) in the mysterious realm known as “The Further,” but the boy is being held captive by a very freaky demon who for whatever reason is playing this song on an old phonograph. Creeptastic, y’all.

#3: “Pocketful of Sunshine” – Easy A

Would Easy A be considered Emma Stone’s breakthrough movie? I’m not sure. I just know that this is the first film I saw her in where I went, “Y’know what? I like this girl.” And she has been awesome ever since. And this scene…this is just wonderful. Natasha Bedingfield’s “Pocketful of Sunshine” was massively, massively overplayed on the radio; therefore, I’m not really a huge fan of this song. But I love what this film does with it. The scene doesn’t really serve a purpose–it’s just funny and so true to life. On Friday, Olive (Stone) gets a card that plays the song, and at first she hates it. As the weekend progresses that changes. Makes me smile every time.

#4: “The Man Comes Around” – Dawn of the Dead

Given the grim subject matter, Johnny Cash’s “The Man Comes Around” is entirely too bouncy and upbeat, don’tcha think? I mean, it’s about the apocalypse…but whatever. That’s beside the point. I can’t remember if I heard it before I saw the 2004 Dawn of the Dead remake or not, but I do know this: the song is now synonymous with zombies in my mind. Already vaguely creepy if you listen to the lyrics, “The Man Comes Around” becomes 100 percent more creepy when plugged into the intro of this film, during which zombies emerge and the world panics and chaos ensues. Sets the scene perfectly. When making your zombocalypse survival plans, I suggest listening to this song on a loop.

#5: “I Put a Spell On You” – Hocus Pocus

Frankly, I don’t know how I let two Song and Screen posts pass by without mentioning this. Can anybody think of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’ (yes, that is the original artist) “I Put a Spell On You” without thinking of Bette Midler’s super fabulous version of the song in Hocus Pocus (which I mention here if you’d like to see)? This is one of my favorite uses of song in a film ever, and for good reason–it’s catchy, it’s a fun way to move the plot forward, and it showcases the superb Midler is the most awesome way possible. Check and mate. Have a listen if you’d like, but I’m not to be held responsible if this is stuck in your head the rest of the day… 😉 Oh, and if you’d like to listen to the original 1956 version of the song, just go here.

Hope you guys are enjoying this series! I love wracking my brain for more songs. But hey–you can do one of these, too, y’know! If you’d like to do your own Song and Screen post, type up a little something and send it to caragale123@gmail.com. I’ll take them any time if you’d like to partake. 🙂 Anyway, I think I may actually take a break from posting this weekend and try to catch up on reading blogs, preparing posts I need to do for other people, and the like. So have fun this weekend, kids! I’ll catch you on Monday!

13 thoughts on “Song and Screen, Pt. 3

  1. Oh Cara you really need to watch the original Fright Night. It still holds up as a classic and shows the remake up as the crap that it is.

    And I love that Johnny Cash song at the start of Dawn of the Dead, it really drags you in!

    I want to do one of these!

    • I’m actually thinking about watching it for a Halloween series! I do like Chris Sarandon. Yaaaassss to the Cash song. A perfect choice.

      Then DO one, silly! 😉 Send it my way any time!

  2. I liked the Fright Night remake, I thought it was a lot of fun! Did you like Anton Yelchin in Charlie Bartlett? That was a lot of fun.

    So… are we allowed to do more??

    • Yaaayyy I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who likes that Fright Night! I haven’t seen Charlie Bartlett, but I have heard he’s great in it. Girl, if you wanna do another you go for it!! 🙂

      • 😀 Then I, too, am not alone lol. You really should check it, very entertaining, and Robert Downey Jr was also very cool!

        I shall look into that, really!

    • Yeah that Johnny Cash song is perfection in Dawn of the Dead. Awww Insidious is not shit!! It’s not the BEST scary movie, but I still like it a lot…This just comes back to you not liking at scary movies after the ’80s. 😉

Leave a Reply

