Blogiversary Bash: The Sporadic Chronicles of a Beginner Blogger

Zoë, I was going to find an African party animal, but then I found party pig...How could I resist??

Zoë, I was going to find an African party animal, but then I found party pig…How could I resist??

Good day, you lovely people, and welcome back to the Blogiversary Bash! Guess what? It’s my birthday! So while I’m off doing birthday stuff, who better to be here in my stead than the amazing Miss Zoë of The Sporadic Chronicles of a Beginner Blogger? If you guys follow me, I’m 99.9% positive you follow Zoë, too, but on the off chance that you don’t, get yourself over there RIGHT NOW and follow her! She has an absolutely fantastic site with more movie, TV, and book reviews than you can shake a stick at, she’s doing an Alfred Hitchcock blogathon with MovieRob that is going to be awesome, she always has great clips for her Sporadic Scene feature…I could go on and on. Any ol’ who, let me turn things over to Zoë, who is here to talk about one of the best trilogies of all time. 🙂

 

HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY CARA GALE!!!! So pleased that you have been around, and that Man of Steel irritated you enough to bring you to us, it has been wonderful!

You know, besides drowning in about ten million textbooks and horrendous exams, I have been ripping my hair out thinking about what to do for Cara’s Blogiversary. I had an idea, but there was no way that I was going to pull it together, and trust me, I tried. So instead it was back to the drawing board for me, square one, the whole shebang.

Me, contemplating my options.

Me, contemplating my options.

But then it hit me. Out of the blue. I mean, how could I not do this? The idea was almost like it was floating around, and I just needed the concentration to see it, snatch it, and make it happen.

When my mind locked onto the idea.

When my mind locked onto the idea.

I am a huge fan of The Lord of the Rings. Like, it’s ridiculous. I watch these movies, and by watch I mean the extended editions (because there is no other ways to watch them), probably every two months. Recently I dragged my best friend Natasha into this marathon, who is also a big Lord of the Rings fan, but has not watched the movies back to back ever, and hadn’t seen The Fellowship of the Ring or The Two Towers in years. I did not know this when I popped them in, and man, it was one hell of a rewarding run. I decided to construct lists of my top five favourite scenes from each of the movies. Bear in mind, I am a big fan of these movies that I cannot call this the definitive list.

The Fellowship of the Ring (2001)

Merry and Pippin and the Giant Dragon Firework

An extremely humorous scene for me, I always love seeing Merry and Pippin up to their shenanigans! Those two are always cooking something up, and invariably it is something that is going to cause trouble. The unleashing of Gandalf’s seriously awesome dragon firework was really cool. Not only was the firework exceptionally impressive, but the planning that went into the theft, the lack of planning that went into the execution of lighting it up, as well as the aftermath and Gandalf busting them was just really funny.

Frodo’s Escape from the Black Riders

I just love the way this looks. The slow motion was perfectly used; the music was awesome, setting the dreaded scene up, Frodo running, his fellow hobbits desperately screaming for him, rooting for him to outrun the Ringwraiths, which he eventually did, and that rider coming to a skidding stop on the dock, clear of the water of Bucklebury Ferry. It was just constructed really, really well.

Meeting Strider in Bree

This was a great way to introduce us to Aragorn, and just in the nick of time for the hobbits, too. He is introduced to us as a dodgy Ranger, and then he turns out to be rather slick, smooth, and smart about things. Merry, Pippin, and Sam rushing in to “save” Frodo makes me giggle every time, too, seeing as they are tiny, and brandishing weapons that are pretty useless against a real enemy. Strider proves his worth to the hobbits, though the still treat him as though he is a scoundrel. Shocking, considering he is the Heir of Isildur and all that!

Gandalf’s Balrog Fight and Fall at Khazad-dûm

This was an emotional scene for a lot of people, and I thought that it came together well. The Fellowship escaped the goblins, only to have far worse issues on their hands: a Balrog, which Gandalf was aware of, and was afraid of encountering. Entering the Mines of Moria was purely at Frodo’s behest, and it cost him dearly. The iconic “You shall not pass!” has remained popular, even after all these years. The epic whip surging from the depths at Khazad-dûm and catching Gandalf was brilliant, and his command of “Fly, you fools!” will remain with us all. The hobbits and their reactions were heavy, and the Fellowship’s response to their loss was crafted very well.

The Slaying of Boromir

Who can speak of The Fellowship of the Ring without thinking of the intense death that Boromir suffered, his bravery and his loyalty evident in the face of death? There is nobody else that could have done Boromir the justice that Sean Bean gave to him. He was brilliant. He was a likable character, a man being corrupted by the power of the Ring, and he paid the price, but he also redeemed himself. His death was just executed so well, and the scene where Aragorn shares his final words with the man? “I would have followed you, my brother… my captain… my king.” They just drove the point home, the loss, the devastation.

The Two Towers (2002)

The Riders of Rohan

What with Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas hot at the heels of the Uruk-hai that have taken Merry and Pippin, they come across the riders of Rohan, led by the banished Éomer, who took those who were loyal to him and left Edoras. His men left the sick and ancient and darkened Theoden, and when the two parties encounter it provides some laughs, as well as some sadness. The riders killed the band of Uruk-hai that they come across, and admit that the hobbits may have been among the slain, they would not have known. From this moment you can see a type of loyalty come into being between Éomer and Aragorn. Also, I love how the first one to defend Gimli is Legolas, an elf.

The Army of Isengard

Saruman is constructing the huge bombs that he will use to breach the Keep of Helm’s Deep, and Gríma doubts that this is possible. However, when Saruman leads Gríma out of Orthanc, we see the massive armies that Saruman has been manufacturing, and it is huge. His speech encourages them to march on Helm’s Deep and make eradicate Rohan. It leaves you with a distinct feeling of dread.

The Warg Riders of Isengard

Whatever anyone has to say to this (and yes bestie, this was directed at you), it cannot be denied that it is a thrilling scene! The way the wargs come out is so cool, and the soldiers riding for Helm’s Deep cresting the mountain behind Legolas, his really trippy grab and mount of the horse and all that was so cool. The music tells you something hardcore is going down, and demands your attention. There are few things I enjoy as much as a good fight scene, and this was one of those.

The Breach of Helm’s Deep

Eeeeeeek this was insane. Helm’s Deep was actually doing relatively well until the bomb that Saruman had crafted to breach the walls of Helm’s Deep was brought in. The Uruk-hai berserker that went in to light the fuse and blow the wall was one crazy guy, bound by nothing but order and destruction. Aragorn’s urgency for Legolas to take him down was also palpable, and their ultimate failure and decent amount of arrows lodged in the berserker ended with a pretty impressive explosion and then an intense battle waging through the hole now, too. The thing is, I love a castle siege, and this whole battle at Helm’s Deep keeps me entertained all the time!

Forth Éorlingas

Just when all hope was lost, Theoden throwing in the towel and that, it is none other than Aragorn who comes to his aid, encouraging him, not letting him accept defeat so docilely. Bolstering his pride, Aragorn convinces Theoden to ride out and meet Isengard’s army head on, to show bravery in the face of defeat. Things may be looking bleak and all that, but Gandalf delivers on his promise of “Look to my coming at first light on the fifth day. At dawn, look to the East.” When it appears that the end is nigh, Éomer and the Rohirrim return with Gandalf to take down the traitors, to save their people.

The Return of the King (2003)

The Ride of the Rohirrim

If I don’t put this scene in here I know that Natasha will absolutely butcher me, and I am totally not feeling the being unfriended by butchery at the moment. On the other hand, it is not an easy scene to forget, and certainly not something that I can overlook. It came together damn well, and Theoden got his people together. I respected him for riding into war with his soldiers, instead of hiding in the background somewhere, proving his life more important than anyone else’s.  Also, just before Theoden and his men make a stand, there is a ridiculously cool piece with Gandalf against the Witch King of Angmar.

The Mouth of Sauron

I know that this makes it onto every list I do and all that, but damn, this was an awesome scene. I loved the costume design, the expressions shared, and the reactions of the party before the Mouth of Sauron, the symbolism, all of it. It gets me each and every single time. I always cannot wait for this scene, and I find it to be exceptionally rewarding. Just wow. Aragorn’s response to the conversation? Best conversation closer of all time.

Gandalf the White versus the Nazgûl (Saving Faramir)

Another favourite of mine. This scene looked beautiful, what with Faramir and his remaining men fleeing Osgiliath for survival, and Gandalf riding out to do what he could to ensure their safe return. His staff and the blinding white light that drove the Nazgûl back was stunning. The light took on a life of its own, and the desire of the Nazgûl to flee was almost tangible.

The Paths of the Dead

Entering Dwimorberg to travel the Paths of the Dead, Aragorn seeks out the Dead Men of Dunharrow to request that they honour their broken oaths made to Isildur in exchange  for their freedom. The Oathbreakers initially deny his request, but later join forces with him. The scene is pretty cool, meeting the King of the Dead, and to see what the dishonoured men had built, so to speak, as well as how they were living, cursed and burdened.

Éomer Finds Éowyn on the Battlefields

This was such an emotional scene! I have moments where I have felt things like this in life (Game of Thrones Spoiler: Robb Stark! The Rains of Castamere!). I get where Éomer is coming from, and Karl Urban truly delivered in terms of his display of utter desolation. The battlefield in the background and his total anxiety and terror were out on open display, and he did not care. It really is something to see a grown man brought to his knees.

Bonus Scene:

Aragorn’s Coronation

I know that this is a scene that most people probably expected right up at number one or something for The Return of the King, and I do so love the scene, I was just looking to share some of the others. However, I will have to put this up so that I am not shot. Indeed, it paints an impressive picture, what with Aragorn finally taking his place as Isildur’s Heir, and the White Tree of Gondor flowering again because the King of Men has returned, taken up his duty once again. Everyone is there to celebrate, there is an ease among the people that has not been seen in a long time, and there is definitely happiness and sadness at play. Pretty cool, I must say.

Well, there we have it. Some scenes I truly enjoy time and time again in these movies. What an epic journey… I am actually itching now to go and relive it all again. What have I done?! Irrespective of, thank you so much for hosting something this fun Cara! 😀

 

Thank you so much, Zoë, for an epic tribute to an epic trilogy!! Love, love, LOVE these movies, and these scenes all make me want to go watch them again, too!! More to come for Blogiversary Bash–including a very special patriotic tribute for Independence Day tomorrow! See you then! 🙂

65 thoughts on “Blogiversary Bash: The Sporadic Chronicles of a Beginner Blogger

    • Zoe – did I totally miss this post?? I was all excited about Cara posting my Star Wars thing then forgot to check out all her posts from before it!!! Lol. You know what? I fucking love Lord of the Rings. I skipped work to see the final one. I joined the fucking FAN CLUB. Lol. Yes, I am a geek. Love the books. Love the films. Great post!!!! : ) (P.S. – will do my best to catch up on your blog tomorrow! I should probably get some sleep now) : (

      • LADY! It seems that you totally did just miss this post hahaha! I have to catch up for the last week (work has been an absolute nightmare). I can’t wait to see your Star Wars one, I did glimpse that it was there to be looked at. I am so behind, so don’t apologise to me hahaha.

        And HELL YEAH!! The Lord of the Rings just ROCKS and I love it and I am glad to hear that you are on board with it too! Thank you so much!

  1. Thank you SO much lady, I’m honoured to be the one to helm your actual BIRTHDAY post! Hope you have a wonderful day and that many more will follow 😀

  2. Is it weird that I find a girl’s knowledge of LOTR a total turn on?

    Anyway these are amazing choices but where the hell are the Gollum scenes? His conversation with himself at the end of The Two Towers is classic!

    • 🙂 Well, I wouldn’t find that weird at all, but that’s just me!

      Well, I thought about them, I did. For a long time, but these won out ultimately. Though he does have some awesome scenes!

  3. Happy happy Cara!

    Bestie…. you know how much I LOVED the idea for this post from the start! It is epic and contains everything I love in LoTR. Thanks for including the Ride of the Rohirrim and the Crowning ❤

    I will not even mention things about the Twin Towers movie…
    Lol 🙂

    • 😀 I did, thank you so much for bearing with me while constructing it, it was awesome.

      You may say that, but you warmed to it CONSIDERABLY when you were here, don’t even lie. It’s an awesome one.

  4. Indeed, an epic tribute to Lord of the Rings. Very nice work Zoe, I can definitely feel your passion for this series.

    And happy bday Cara! Hope it was a great one. 🙂

    Long live the patriotic Pug.

  5. Happy belated bday Cara! I hope you and Miguel had a wonderful day! Because I know he probably tagged along on all your bday adventures.

    Zoe great post! And I love how Natasha always get dragged into whatever your loving… lol you guys are awesome! I would love to see a YouTube video of both of you discussing something you made her watch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

