An Important Reminder and Some Sad News

Golden retriever puppehs ftw

Golden retriever puppehs ftw

Happy Friday, bloggy people! Just wanted to post a little reminder: I had originally made the deadline for blogiversary stuff today…BUT if yours isn’t ready, I will definitely accept them beyond this date. I know a lot of you have contacted me saying you received last-minute inspiration, so of course I will take something whenever you can get it to me. I have things squared away for a while, so no pressure. πŸ™‚

As for the “sad news”…I had never intended to share a whole lot of personal stuff on here, but the fact is that so many of you guys have become my friends. We’ve never met in person, but we’ve exchanged opinions, we’ve bonded over shared obsessions, and we’ve made each other laugh. You guys are important to me, so I want you to know what’s going on in my life.

The sad news is that my grandmother passed away yesterday. We knew it was coming–she’d been in poor health for quite a while–but it doesn’t lessen the blow. I know I’ve mentioned her on here before. She was the only grandparent I ever knew. Mother to 7, grandmother to 12, great-grandmother to 13. Lived through the Great Depression and WWII. Survived more health scares than anyone I’ve ever met. She was a lot of things to a lot of people–avid reader, sports enthusiast, cheerleader, cook, and, yes, even movie critic. I fondly remember going to Harry Potter films and The Hobbit and Star Trek with her. It’s going to be hard for the family to say goodbye, but we’re taking it one day at a time. Anyway, I don’t want to be a Debbie Downer, but I prefer for you guys to know what’s up rather than leave you wondering.

Hope you have some nice plans this weekend. Do something fun with the people you love. πŸ™‚

44 thoughts on “An Important Reminder and Some Sad News

    • Thank you, buddy. Our Twitter chats have been very helpful. I appreciate you taking the time to talk some things through with me.

      #probielove #hugs

  1. *big friendly internet hugs*! That fucking sucks dude. She sounds like she was a real rad time and will definitely be missed. Try not to have too sad of a weekend.

    • She was the RADDEST time. I wish I’d done a video with her or something–she would’ve been a WordPress superstar. The weekend hasn’t been sad at all–we’ve been visiting with family and remembering the good times as best we can. Thanks, Smash.

  2. Aw Cara, I’m so sorry. These times are very tough but they build character.

    I’ve never met you either, but I’d say you’re a pretty great one already!! Keep your head up, it gets better! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Oh, and p.s. I’m so sorry I’ve completely forgotten that I wanted in on the Blogiversary thing. Haha I’m a terrible friend. I’ll be sending something your way VERY shortly. Thanks again for letting me know, and for the heads up here. Totally woulda gone over my head otherwise.

    • No worries, Tom–send something whenever you get a chance. And thanks so much for the kind words. It’s tough, but you’re right–it’ll get better. πŸ™‚

  3. Am sorry to hear that Cara. I’ve lost all my Grand parents too and at least you have many great memories. She sounded amazing πŸ˜€

    Onto other matters. I completely forgot about this blogathon, my bad. But I will definitely send you an email soon with my post. I remember starting the review ages ago haha πŸ˜€

    Oh haha I actually finished it. Look for an email soon!

  4. Cara I am so sorry to hear about your loss, my condolences to you and your family. Just know that she is in a better place and you will always have wonderful memories of her for a lifetime. As Smash mentioned I also send you a big internet hug!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. So sorry to hear your sad news, Cara. : ( *hugs* Your grandmother sounds like she was an amazing lady. And a cool movie fan, too. : ) You know we’re here for you if you need us!

    • Thanks, Mutant. You guys have all been great. I’ve definitely been feeling the love, and it helps. Grandma was quite a gal. The Probies would’ve loved her. πŸ™‚

  6. Hey lady, I’m terribly sorry to hear about the loss your family has suffered. She sure sounds like she was one hell of a woman! Just shout if you need anything!

    *big virtual hugs*

  7. Hey Cara,

    so sorry to hear about your loss. I cant even begin to imagine what it would be like to be able to enjoy Star Trek, Harry Potter and The Hobbit with a grandparent (or even a parent for that matter), so it sounds like you had something really special with her.

    I’m sure you will think of her whenever you think of any of the great times you had with her, so when you miss her, all you need to do is pop in The Hobbit and those great memories will flow right back!

    AS you can see from all the above comments, your virtual friends are all here for you (including me)

    HUGS!!

    • Not gonna lie, I got a little teary-eyed at that suggestion to put in The Hobbit when I miss her. Really, that’s a great idea and a very positive way of looking at it. Rob, thank you so much. *Hugs*

      • wow! I was able to do for you what Fault of Our Stars couldn’t. Impressed πŸ™‚

        Movies are great because they present us with memories of the movie and of the experience that goes along with it each and every time we see it giving us different experiences each time we watch the same movie over and over

  8. Hey Cara! I’m a bit late to learning about your loss. I’m really sorry to hear that. I hope you are slowly feeling a bit better. I understand the feeling of losing a loved one and time will help you feel better. You have great memories with her and that will be forever. She will be alive in your heart forever.

    I’m also sorry I never sent you anything. I was going to and then I figured maybe I’m too late…

Leave a Reply

