Song and Screen: The Sporadic Chronicles of a Beginner Blogger

dog guitar 2

In case you were wondering, yes, dogs as guitars will be a regular thing for this series.

The incredible Miss Zoë of The Sporadic Chronicles of a Beginner Blogger is more on top of things than I could ever dream of being. After I invited people to contribute lists for this series a mere week ago, she decided to knock one out right away! She’s a blogging superstar! Anyway, you didn’t come here to listen to me gush about Zoë’s awesomeness–you’re here to witness it! So read on!

So recently Cara did a Song and Screen list… her Part 1 can be found here.  I was highly entertained by the list and when she said she was taking submissions, I figured I would think of a few songs (I mean she is right, there are soooooo many to choose from) to put up here. Wow, let me just tell you I had an absolute blast doing this! Thanks a lot Cara, this is such a cool idea!

 

Gimme Shelter (The Rolling Stones) – The Departed (2006)

This one… I just freaking love the usage of this song here. I am a Rolling Stones fan, and a Scorsese, DiCaprio, and Nicholson fan. Naturally, a movie featuring this lot just opening with this track was going to mean big things. Whenever I hear it I think of a lot of things, but it always gets me amped up to go and watch The Departed again without fail. This song gives me goosebumps every single time, and it was so perfectly used here. It thrills me.

 

Where Is My Mind? (The Pixies) – Fight Club (1999)

This is just one song that, no matter when I hear it, I can only think of split personalities, explosions, mayhem….well, no matter how you look at it, this song is irrevocably linked up with Fincher’s 1999 masterpiece, Fight Club.  I am sure I am not the only one that has these two things linked up like this…

 

Carry On My Wayward Son (Kansas) – Supernatural

See, there are a few tracks that I could list here. Knocking on Heaven’s Door, Wheel In The Sky, Hell’s Bells, Oh Death… there are others. But this is the one that dominates. Whenever I think Supernatural I think of this, and whenever I hear this I think of Supernatural. They have just become so intertwined they cannot be separated. The Winchester brothers have taken possession of this song, entirely.

 

Under Your Spell (Desire) – Drive (2011)

Just to put this on the record, I am not a fan of music that is like this at all; hence I was so surprised that I enjoyed the soundtrack for Drive so much. Anyway, moving on from that, Under Your Spell gets stuck in your head and just stays there. It works so well for this scene, and you can picture it all the time. Whenever I hear this, I can see the Driver and Irene, the way they are separated, how the song tells the story on the screen… yes. This just worked.

 

Blurred Lines (Robin Thicke) – Oracle of Film

I didn’t even know what the hell this song was; I even had to ask Luke for the name of it (don’t even judge me, monkeys). But I saw his birthday video (as depicted above), and I swear, whenever I hear this song now all I can see is him drinking and moving closer and closer to the wall for support. Congratulations, Luke, really, you have invaded my mind.

 

Check My Brain (Alice in Chains) – Californication

This is just what you call a best friend. Check My Brain has become synonymous with Hank Moody, Marlboros, Runkle, and wine. If you watch Californication, you will know what I mean. I just thought that there was no better way to use this track.

 

Fortunate Son (Creedence Clearwater Revival) – Forrest Gump (1994)

I know that the Canadians some aren’t a fan of this movie, but that doesn’t bug me. I love this song, I have heard it in other movies, I always think of the Vietnam War when I hear it, but when I hear it and think of movies, the very first one that comes to mind is Forrest Gump, without a doubt.  Leaving for Vietnam, telling his story as he does, Forrest captures the moment, sealing it up with this wonderful number.

 

Thanks so much, Zoë, for a wonderful contribution! I’m thrilled that I’ve already gotten a guest in on this! If anyone else would like to participate, feel free to send a list to caragale123@gmail.com any ol’ time. As I said before, this is a very casual series. HOWEVER, just a reminder–if you intend to do something for the Blogiversary Bash, please try to get it to me by next Friday (June 20). Can’t believe my blog is closing in on a year! Eeep! Anyway, TGIF, y’all! Go have a great weekend!

51 thoughts on “Song and Screen: The Sporadic Chronicles of a Beginner Blogger

  1. Zoe what an awesome list! I think this is my fave post of you ever! Good job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I got nostalgic watching all these and thinking yup, she’s so right to all of them. Bravo!

  2. Great choices, Zoe! Damn – I gotta do one of these quick – I’d have probably chosen The Pixies as well. ; ) That song never comes off my iPod! Knew you’d choose The Stones. ; ) And, OMG – that Luke video was hilarious!!

  3. Haha I’m mostly stuck right now laughing at your comments about Luke. Yes. . .hmmm… he does indeed take to that wall nicely as the video goes on, doesn’t he? I’m not sure if I’d even be still standing after getting THAT MANY wrong!! 😀 😀

    This is a cool list and cool idea. Well done everyone peeps and peepettes!

    • Jeesh the first time I saw that video I was at work, laughing and laughing. Eventually my colleague had to know what that was all about, then HE was laughing the whole way through. My math said a bottle = 750ml, so at 25ml a shot he would get 30 out of the bottle. Was I wrong or WHAT?! 😛

      Thanks Tom!

  4. Great post! I love this idea, I need to do a list like this! Some awesome entries too. Comfortably Numb and Shipping Up To Boston will always scream The Departed to me though, above anything else. 😉

  5. love this list Zoe!

    Forrest Gump brings to mind so many great songs [love the album(s)] To me tho, the iconic song is turn, turn, turn, always tears me up. they even made a video for the song with clips from the movie!

  6. Great post JBSB!!!!! (except for that one)

    🙂

    Cara – I finally thought of what I can do for you!! I’ll send it over sometime soon!!

    XOXOXOX

Leave a Reply

