April Fools 2014: Cara’s lovable animated idiots

lion king

Time flies when you’re talking about fools, doesn’t it? Seems like April Fools has still only just begun, yet here we are on the last post! That’s right—today is the last post because tomorrow is reserved for a very special reblog…but you’ll see. 😉 Anyway, I couldn’t close out this series without discussing quite possibly my favorite lovable idiots yet: animated idiots! So here we go!

 

5: Po (Kung Fu Panda, Kung Fu Panda 2)

po

Ah, poor Po (Jack Black). He dreams of being a legendary kung fu warrior, but it’s hard to achieve a dream like that when your worst nemesis is a long flight of stairs. Po is a flabby, socially awkward klutz who has a hard time fitting in anywhere. Yet he’s also a fluffy, adorable panda with a heart of gold, which makes him nearly impossible not to love. Not the most graceful or intelligent kung fu fighter in the world, but easily one of the most lovably idiotic.

Favorite quote: “My fist hungers for justice! [stomach rumbles] That was…my fist.”

 

4: Kronk (The Emperor’s New Groove)

kronk gif

Kim may have beat me to the punch on this one, but I, too, have long loved Kronk (Patrick Warburton). The hulking sidekick of evil Yzma, Kronk’s brain is pretty much a blank slate, and what is bouncing around in there is fairly useless—not much you can do with being fluent in squirrel and a pro at jump rope. But with his silly antics and comically deep voice, Kronk is just delightful. He may be assisting the villain, but he tends to hinder the situation more than help it, and we love him for that.

Favorite quote: “Oh, look. A golden-throated small-winged warbler. Just one more for exotic bird bingo. I am loving this.”

 

3: The Minions (Despicable Me, Despicable Me 2)

minions

I feel like most people either adore or loathe the Minions (Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud). Personally, I adore them. The sidekicks of the “villainous” Gru, the Minions easily number in the hundreds, and every last one of them is wonderfully silly. With short, stout yellow bodies, a jibber jabber language, and big, goggled eyes, these fellas are more akin to stooges than evil-doers. They’re not the brightest bunch, and their attempts to help their boss usually fail, but they’re so darn funny trying that it’s hard not to laugh.

Favorite quote: “Bottom. [giggles]”

 

2: Dory (Finding Nemo)

dory gif

Once again, this is another one that someone else got to before me (darn you, Abbi!), but I simply could not go without mentioning lovably idiotic Dory (Ellen DeGeneres). In poor Dory’s defense, it’s not really her fault that she’s an idiot—if we had severe short-term memories, we’d be scatterbrained, too. Dory leads frantic father Marlin astray quite a lot, but she also brings out a lighter side in him and helps him learn some important life lessons. Plus, despite her bouts of silliness, she is often surprisingly handy (i.e. reading and communicating with whales).

Favorite quote: “I suffer from short-term memory loss. It runs in my family…At least I think it does…hm. Where are they?”

 

1: Dug (Up)

dug

Up is probably my favorite Pixar film, and this dog—this wonderful, wonderful talking dog—brings me so much joy. I’ve always been a dog lover, but Dug (Bob Peterson) is a special kind of dog…and a special kind of lovable idiot. A chubby, golden retriever-esque canine equipped with a collar that allows him to speak, Dug becomes a mouthpiece for all lovably idiotic dogs, and it is glorious. His obsession with squirrels and tennis balls, his hatred of “the cone of shame,” and his unwavering love for his human friends makes him downright endearing. Dumb as a box of rocks, but endearing.

Favorite quote: “I was hiding under your porch because I love you.”

 

Aaaaaand SCENE! We’re closing the curtains on lovable idiots for now, but DANG has this been a fun series! Seriously, who knew we could come up with sooooo many different characters? And speaking of that “we,” please allow me to take a minute to thank all of the wonderful, beautiful, supremely talented guest bloggers who were kind enough to contribute lists. In order of appearance, a big thanks to: Zoë, Eric, Tom, Rowena, Chris, Josh, Table 9 Mutant, Anna, Brian, Abbi, Mikey, Alex, Kim, Adam, Rob, and Melissa. That’s the most guest bloggers I’ve had for a series yet, and I ❤ you all so very much for helping out!!! HUGS!!!

I’m sure I’ll do another series again sometime in the next few months, but I’m definitely going to take time to relax and scheme about future endeavors. But thanks to everyone who stuck with this one, and thank you for bearing with my absence while I was adventuring in New York. I have returned, and I shall be catching up on your excellent blogs this week. 🙂

39 thoughts on “April Fools 2014: Cara’s lovable animated idiots

  1. great list. Still haven’t seen Emperor’s New Groove, but with I should get to it soon…. Still have lots of Disney movies left 🙂

    I love Dory, she is hilarious. Cant wait for her solo movie next year.

    Glad that you’re back in action.

    Welcome back!

  2. Another great list! Loooooove Dory & the minions SO much! : ) This was a fabulous series – can’t wait to see what you do next! But you deserve a little break. Just not too long of a break! : )

    • Haha thanks, lady! Yes, I do quite like Dory and those silly Minions. 🙂 I am DEF taking a break, but I’m still brainstorming future ideas…hmmmm…

  3. Pingback: The Emperor’s New Groove (2000) | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: GALAXY QUEST (1999) NEVER GIVE UP, NEVER SURRENDER! | Isaacs Picture Conclusions

Leave a Reply

