April Fools 2014: Cara’s lovable live-action idiots

idiot_goggie_by_IchibanWolf

So as not to let myself become a complete slug while all of these wonderful guest bloggers infuse April Fools with awesomeness, I decided to sit down and type up another list of some of my own favorite lovable idiots. Today’s focus? Lovable live-action idiots!

 

5: Brick Tamland (Anchorman)

brick tamland

With a name like “Brick,” the guy’s bound to be an idiot. In fact, Brick (Steve Carell) is so dumb it should be a crime. But he’s also pretty darn lovable. I’m not much of an Anchorman fan (and I have no plans to see Anchorman 2), but for me, Brick is best part. I’m pretty sure everything he says and does in that film makes me laugh. Yet while he is a complete and utter dunce, he’s also chipper, good-natured, and very loyal to his group of friends (who are almost as stupid as he is). Precious.

Favorite quote: “I ate fiberglass insulation. It wasn’t cotton candy like the guy said…my tummy itches.”

 

4: Alan Garner (The Hangover)

alan garner

I realize everyone is pretty much fed up with the Hangover films at this point, but c’mon admit it—you still think Alan (Zach Galifianakis) is at least a little bit funny when you go back and watch the first one. Notice I say “the first one.” After that he’s kind of a tool, but in the hilarious film that started the two-thirds wretched trilogy, Alan is childlike, impossibly dumb, and just too funny. Whether he’s rocking a too-tight wolf t-shirt and satchel, toting around a random baby, or getting tased in the face, Alan cracks me up.

Favorite quote: “Nobody’s gonna f*** on you! I’m on your side! I hate Godzilla! I hate him, too! I hate him! He destroys cities! Please! This isn’t your fault. I’ll get you some pants.”

 

3: Derek Zoolander (Zoolander)

derek zoolander 2

Most people seem to either love or hate Ben Stiller. For me, it depends on the film. But I freaking love Zoolander, and, in my opinion, Derek Zoolander is one of the most lovable idiots around. Vain? Yes. Self-centered? Yes. Stupid? Oh, dear lord, yes. But Derek, a male model with cotton for brains, really does want to be a better person. He’s looking for “more to life than being really, really, ridiculously good-looking,” and his search is endearing. He even wants to build a school. God help those children…

Favorite quote: “If there is anything that this horrible tragedy can teach us, it’s that a male model’s life is a precious, precious commodity. Just because we have chiseled abs and stunning features, it doesn’t mean that we, too, can’t not die in a freak gasoline fight accident.”

 

2: Buddy the Elf (Elf)

buddy the elf

Oh sweet, sweet, clueless Buddy. Will Ferrell has played plenty of idiots, but their lovability is often…questionable. When it comes to Buddy, however, I doubt many people would have a bad word to say. Because he’s that adorable. Raised by one of Santa’s elves in the North Pole, Buddy is completely oblivious to the ways of human beings—which often gets him into trouble when he visits his father in New York. But he loves everyone and everything. Doesn’t have a mean streak in him. So what if he’s a few ornaments short of a Christmas tree?

Favorite quote: “Wow, you’re fast. I’m glad I caught up to you. I waited five hours for you. Why is your coat so big? So, good news—I saw a dog today. Have you seen a dog? You probably have. How was school? Was it fun? Did you get a lot of homework? Huh? Do you have any friends? Do you have a best friend? Does he have a big coat, too?”

 

1: Forrest Gump (Forrest Gump)

forrest gump

Okay, so maybe calling Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks) an idiot is a little harsh. He’s a simple guy, and he isn’t the brightest bulb in the package, yet in his own way he’s probably the wisest person on this list. And he’s definitely the most admirable. Forrest suffers through some serious tragedy, yet he retains unshakable calmness, quiet strength, and a remarkably positive world view. For all of these reasons and for the fact that he is unintentionally hilarious, we not only forgive Forrest if he’s a little slow, but we love him for it.

Favorite quote: “The best thing about visiting the President is the food! Now, since it was all free, and I wasn’t hungry but thirsty, I must’ve drank me fifteen Dr. Peppers.”

 

Stay tuned, friends! Another fantastic guest list for you tomorrow! So I’ll just go back to being lazy for now… 😉

31 thoughts on “April Fools 2014: Cara’s lovable live-action idiots

  1. Great list Cara. Not an Anchorman fan at all, but the other 4 I found myself nodding to. And you get bonus points for mentioning Elf. That film makes me laugh so much

  2. Buddy, Brick and Zoolander . . . yes. Definitely lovable and stupid. (I haven’t seen Hangover.) Forrest, though? Like you actually admitted, I don’t think he’s stupid. I think he’s actually quite unintentionally brilliant. Which is the only reason I probably wouldn’t put him on this list. 🙂

  3. VERY awesome list Cara, I think Forrest Gump is a great choice. He’s an idiot by way of not meaning to come off sounding so dumb. He is well-intentioned and turns out to be pretty intelligent in his own ways. I love the character. In fact I pretty much love all the guys on this list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

