April Fools 2014: Terry Malloy’s Pigeon Coop

tmpc pic

Know what it seems like a good day for? Sharing some more lovable idiots from the wide world of film and television. And Chris from Terry Malloy’s Pigeon Coop is just the guy to do it! Chris not only has a rockin’ site name and grading system, but he has excellent, thoughtful film reviews. And he might even teach you a thing or two with his “What is…” posts. Of course I don’t know why I’m telling your guys this because I am certain you follow him. 😉 Let’s see who Chris chose for his April Fools!

 

5. Rex – Toy Story trilogy

 rex

As everyone knows, Rex is a Tyrannosaurus Rex, the most feared of all dinosaurs! And yet he’s completely useless, has an inferiority complex and is the least scary dinosaur you can imagine. He’s pretty much no help at all, ever, and I’m not really sure why the other toys don’t just tell him to stay at home and they’ll bring him something nice back. Yet you can’t help but love him.

Memorable quote: “I can’t look. Can someone please cover my eyes?”

 

4. Borat – Borat: Cultural Learnings of America Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan

borat

Borat (just like all of Sacha Baron Cohen’s creations) is a pretty divisive character but I just think he’s brilliant. From dinner party faux pas to singing a fake national anthem in front of gullible Americans, he’s a complete tool. But to create such an idiocy needs a bit of genius on SBC’s part.

Memorable quote: “He is my neighbor Nursultan Tuliagby. He is pain in my assholes. I get a window from a glass, he must get a window from a glass. I get a step, he must get a step. I get a clock radio, he cannot afford. Great success!”

 

3. Frank Drebin – Naked Gun trilogy

frank drebin

Up until Naked Gun, Leslie Nielsen had mainly been playing villains. However, since Frank Drebin, it’s hard to imagine him doing much else! Frank is a completely hapless police office who still, somehow, manages to get his man. It’s almost impossible not to laugh at Drebin; it’s cheesy slapstick humour at its very best.

Memorable quote: Frank: Nice beaver! Jane: [producing a stuffed beaver] Thank you. I just had it stuffed.

 

2. Garth Algar – Wayne’s World

garth

To be honest, there’s an argument to include Wayne and Garth in this, but I think Garth just about pips Wayne to being more of an idiot. There does seem to be a tiny bit of genius under that giant blonde mop of hair, but it’s pretty well hidden.

Memorable quote: “That is a babe. She makes me feel kinda funny, like when we used to climb the rope in gym class”

 

1. Homer Simpson – The Simpsons

Homer doesn’t really need an introduction. We all know who he is. Just watch and revel in his wonderful idiocy (yes it’s not just Homer in this clip, but no-one needs an excuse to watch The Simpsons):

Memorable quote: “Maybe, just once, someone will call me ‘Sir’ without adding, ‘You’re making a scene.”

 

Thanks a million, Chris! I LOVE all the different choices you guys have been coming up with! Much more to come! Also, if you’d like to participate, I do still have a few slots open toward the end of the month…but I really do need your list ASAP if you want in. I’ll be leaving for a little trip on the 23rd, and I’ll need to have everything squared away before I go. So send your list to cs227@evansville.edu by, let’s say, the 20th and I’ll be sure to add you to the lineup. 🙂

30 thoughts on “April Fools 2014: Terry Malloy’s Pigeon Coop

Leave a Reply

