April Fools 2014: Cara’s lovable TV idiots

april-fools-mr-t

HA! I GOT YOU GUYS! Here you thought you were sending me lists for a real blog series. JOKE’S ON YOU! I’m just gonna keep those lists in my inbox and laugh at you all. You’re the REAL April Fools! HAHAHAHAHA!!!!

…Kidding. How much would I suck if I did that? Rest assured, I am not that mean. April Fools 2014 has officially BEGUN!!!

For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, let me fill you in: April Fools is an idea I had for a blog series a while back. I asked people to send me lists of their top five favorite lovable idiots from film and television, and I’ll be sharing those lists with you throughout the month. I’ll be kicking things off today with a little list of my own—one of a few lists I intend to do because I just couldn’t narrow it down to five all-time lovable idiots. So without further ado, here are my top five lovable TV idiots!

 

5: Eric Matthews (Boy Meets World)

Eric enjoys pizza.

Eric enjoys pizza.

I don’t know how familiar you guys are with Boy Meets World, but this was my absolute favorite sitcom back in the day. And Eric Matthews (Will Friedle) is at the center of the very best comedic moments. The hyperactive, moronic older brother of the show’s main protagonist, Eric inspires a laugh in almost every episode. He’s selfish, annoying, weird, and often dumb as a brick, but he has this infectious energy that is charming and hilarious. Also, in an alternate future, he renames himself “Plays With Squirrels.” Yes.

Favorite quote: “I married a moose. We don’t need counseling.”

 

4: Barney Stinson (How I Met Your Mother)

Barney is an advocate of the high five.

Barney is an advocate of the high five.

Admittedly, I haven’t fully kept up with How I Met Your Mother (I heard the series finale was last night…eeeee!), but what I’ve seen of it is hilarious. A lot of that humor can be attributed to Barney Stinson (Neil Patrick Harris). A charming, slutty, suit-loving, brotastic king of catchphrases (“Legen…wait for it…dary” or “Suit up” ring any bells?), Barney is truly a larger than life character. His womanizing, self-centered ways should be off-putting, but he has this soft, even naïve side makes him very lovable. Plus, he cracks me up.

Favorite quote: “In my body, where the shame gland should be, there is a second awesome gland. True story.”

 

3: Phil Dunphy (Modern Family)

Wisdom from Phil Dunphy

Wisdom from Phil Dunphy

Is there a more hilarious dad on television than Modern Family’s Phil Dunphy (Ty Burrell)? Personally, I don’t think so. Always striving to be “the cool dad” to his three kids, Phil is basically a child trapped in a man’s body. But I love him for his attempts to connect with his kids via memorizing High School Musical song lyrics and learning text lingo (even though he misinterprets “wtf” as “why the face”). I love his optimism, his naivety, his awkwardness, and, yes, his stupidity. If you don’t love all that, too, you might not have a soul.

Favorite quote: “I always felt bad for people with emotionally distant fathers; it turns out I’m one of them. It’s a miracle I didn’t end up a stripper.”

 

2: Rose Nylund (The Golden Girls)

Rose takes pleasure from the little things--like sock puppets.

Rose takes pleasure from the little things–like sock puppets.

Judge me if you want, but I’ll admit it with pride: I love The Golden Girls. And Rose Nylund (Betty White) is a big part of that love. Constantly confused, unbelievably naïve, and frequently churning out long-winded stories about life in her hometown of St. Olaf, Minnesota, poor Rose is almost always the butt of the joke when around her over-the-hill roommates. But she’s so sweet and big-hearted that it is virtually impossible to hate her. I mean, c’mon—BETTY WHITE. Need I say more?

Favorite quote: Rose: “Can I ask a dumb question?” Dorothy: “Better than anybody I know.”  

 

1: Jason Stackhouse (True Blood)

Well said, Jason.

Well said, Jason.

It was very difficult to pick my champion of television’s most lovable idiots, but True Blood’s Jason Stackhouse (Ryan Kwanten) fits the bill. The brother of the show’s main protagonist, Sookie, Jason is a beautiful manwhore with rocks for brains. He’s slept with every woman in town, he’s known for making bad life choices, and you won’t believe some of the ridiculous crap that come out of his mouth. But the best thing about Jason is despite his bouts of stupidity, he really cares for his friends and family, and he’s always trying to right wrongs and be a better person. And, yeah, the pretty face doesn’t hurt either.

Favorite quote: “That train has already sailed!”

 

So there’s the first batch of lovable idiots! More tomorrow from a very special guest blogger. However, before I sign off, I will leave you with a glimpse of the most lovable idiot on WordPress. Enjoy.

eric

“Boobs.” –Eric Isaacs

45 thoughts on “April Fools 2014: Cara’s lovable TV idiots

  1. This will be a great series, Cara! Can’t wait to see them all. : ) And great list! Um, I think. Okay – I’ve watched nothing other than The Golden Girls but AWESOME CHOICE! Rose is one of my all-time favorite characters. Betty White kicks ass! Love that woman!!! : )

    • Thanks, Mutant! Yes, I freaking adore Betty White. She is never allowed to die. EVER. Should we ever find the secret to immortality, it must first be given to Betty. And then Morgan Freeman.

  2. Stackhouse is a legend! Best thing about the increasingly insane True Blood. I remember when he was in Aussie soap Home & Away as lifeguard Vinny Patterson. What a guy!

    • HA! Of COURSE he started on a soap opera. That’s perfect. Yeah, Jason is one of my favorite things about True Blood. It seems like every season is a little worse, but Jason somehow keeps getting better.

  3. The only issue here is that Eric is far from an idiot. 🙂

    Oh and I only know two of these characters. Seriously? Serious. Phil and Rose, both of whom I also love. I have been meaning to see some How I Met Your Mother eventually. On balance, is the show worth it?

    • It’s true–Eric is not an idiot. Just love giving him crap. 😉 Yeah a lot of people seem to be familiar only with Rose and Phil. You might give HIMYM a try! What I’ve seen of it is pretty great, though if you do get into it prepare yourself. I have heard the finale is not so awesome.

    • Eric was the best! Even though I am extremely doubtful about the upcoming Girl Meets World, I kind of want to watch it solely for him. Haha. And Jason is hilarious. I’m glad True Blood is ending this season because I think it’s time, but I am very much going to miss Jason…sigh.

Leave a Reply

