The Skinny: 20 Films of 2014

happy new year Happy 2014, everybody!!! Whoops—did I say that too loud? Sorry. I’ll whisper. I know you’re still recovering from last night, so let me spare you the large block of text and get right to the point: here are 20 films I’m looking forward to in this brand spankin’ new year.

#1: Open Grave (Jan. 3)

Synopsis: “A man wakes up in the wilderness, in a pit full of dead bodies, with no memory and must determine if the murderer is one of the strangers who rescued him, or if he himself is the killer.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Though the whole “pit full of dead bodies” thing is more than a little macabre, I find the concept of this film fascinating. Plus, I’ve heard some good buzz. And it doesn’t hurt that the wonderful Mr. Sharlto Copley is the leading man. Since I haven’t seen a single trailer on TV for this one, I’m not really sure if it’s going to make its way to my local theater, but if it does I very well may be checking it out.

#2: I, Frankenstein (Jan. 24)

Synopsis: “Frankenstein’s creature finds himself caught in an all-out, centuries old war between two immortal clans.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Okay, of all the movies on this list, I will readily admit that this is probably least likely to succeed. The potential for silliness is astronomical. But I love Aaron Eckhart and Bill Nighy, so for their sakes I’m at least going to see what the critics have to say. If nothing else, the effects look pretty cool…

#3: The Lego Movie (Feb. 7)

Synopsis: “An ordinary LEGO minifigure, mistakenly thought to be the extraordinary MasterBuilder, is recruited to join a quest to stop an evil LEGO tyrant from gluing the universe together.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: I am an absolute sucker for Legos. I’m obsessed with the Lego video games, and I think the little figures all just so darn CUTE. I may or may not have a Lego Bilbo Baggins sitting on my desk right now…Don’t judge. It was a gift, and he is precious (pun intended, LOTR geeks). Anyway, this film is filled to the brim with wonderful actors voicing adorable little Legos. What’s not to love?

#4: Captain America: The Winter Soldier (April 4)

Synopsis: “Steve Rogers struggles to embrace his role in the modern world and battles a new threat from old history: the Soviet agent known as the Winter Soldier.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: I have grown surprisingly fond of Captain America. I liked him in his debut film well enough, but I adored him in The Avengers. Although it doesn’t hurt that Chris Evans is quite easy on the eyes…Anyway, I think this trailer looks fantastic, and the Winter Soldier looks pretty hardcore. Very much looking forward to this Phase Two Marvel film, especially after the awesomeness of Thor: The Dark World.

#5: Transcendence (April 18)

Synopsis: “Two leading computer scientists work toward their goal of Technological Singularity, as a radical anti-technology organization fights to prevent them from creating a world where computers can transcend the abilities of the human brain.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: What initially drew me to Transcendence was the impressive cast list (which includes Johnny Depp, Morgan Freeman, Cillian Murphy, and Paul Bettany), but after seeing the first official trailer, I’m fairly intrigued by the plot. I mean, a man becomes a super computer that can pretty much control everything? How crazy is that?! I’ll definitely have my eye on this one.

#6: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (May 2)

Synopsis: “With the emergence of Electro, Spider-Man must confront a foe far more powerful than he. And as his old friend, Harry Osborn, returns, Peter Parker comes to realize that all of his enemies have one thing in common: OsCorp.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: I am excited about this, but I say so with reservations. This film is including several baddies and, therefore, several plot threads, which I’m hoping won’t result in little time to no for character development and/or a messy plot. I swear to God, if we get another Spider-Man 3 out of it, my heart very well may shatter into a thousand pieces. I’m being melodramatic, but I was pretty happy with the reboot. I’d hate to see a great superhero ruined all over again.

#7: Neighbors (May 9)

Synopsis: “A couple with a newborn baby faces unexpected difficulties after they are forced to live next to a fraternity house.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Admittedly, this is another one that could be very, very stupid. However, I also thought that about This Is the End, which completely took me by surprise when it became my favorite comedy of last year. The concept here isn’t quite so unique, but I’m still at least going to see what kind of reception it gets. I’ll admit that this picture of Zac Efron and Dave Franco dressed as two Robert De Niro characters kind of cracks me up.

#8: X-Men: Days of Future Past (May 23)

Synopsis: “The X-Men send Wolverine to the past in a desperate effort to change history and prevent an event that results in doom for both humans and mutants.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Like Spider-Man, the X-Men were in vital need of a reboot after their atrocious third film. Thank God for X-Men: First Class. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about some of these characters being reinterpreted by younger actors, but I really enjoyed their take, and I’m quite excited about this upcoming film. I think the trailer looks great, and it’s going to be very interesting having the original favorites in the same film as the new cast.

#9: Maleficent (May 30)

Synopsis: “The ‘Sleeping Beauty’ tale is told from the perspective of the villainous Maleficent and looks at the events that hardened her heart and drove her to curse young Princess Aurora.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Honestly, I don’t love Angelina Jolie. Never have. Which is why it’s so strange that I’m interested in this film. Maybe I like seeing her in villainous roles? I’m not sure. Whatever the case, I will admit that she looks pretty cool in that intense headgear. I’m just hoping that this live-action Disney tale will be better than Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland or Rupert Sanders’ Snow White and the Huntsman…

#10: The Fault in Our Stars (June 6)

the fault in our stars

Synopsis: “Hazel and Gus are two teenagers who share an acerbic wit, a disdain for the conventional, and a love that sweeps them on a journey. Their relationship is all the more miraculous given that Hazel’s other constant companion is an oxygen tank, Gus jokes about his prosthetic leg, and they met and fell in love at a cancer support group.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Right now, The Fault in Our Stars seems to be all the rage. Well, the book, anyway. I haven’t heard many people talk about this upcoming film (probably because there’s not even a trailer yet), but apparently the book is supposed to be phenomenal. I don’t know about everyone else, but in my head I’m already comparing this to The Perks of Being a Wallflower—another apparently great young adult novel made into a film (that I really enjoyed). Here’s hoping The Fault in Our Stars will see similar success.

#11: How to Train Your Dragon 2 (June 13)

Synopsis: The only synopsis on IMDB is freaking huge. I’m not posting all that here, but just go here if you’d like to read about it.

Why I’m Interested: I cannot even properly express how excited I am for this film. I remember going to see the first film on a whim and being blown away by how incredibly hilarious, adorable, and heartfelt it was. I’m sincerely hoping they can keep up that degree of awesomeness for the sequel. The trailer looks quite good, in my humble opinion, but it still shocks me because Hiccup is ALL GROWN UP. Like, woah.

#12: 22 Jump Street (June 13)

Synopsis: “After making their way through high school (twice), big changes are in store for officers Schmidt and Jenko when they go deep undercover at a local college.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Though 21 Jump Street has its fair share of stupid humor, the first time I saw it I was surprised how very tongue-in-cheek it is. It’s a hilarious, self-aware type of humor that makes it much cleverer than you’d expect. Plus, Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum have a comedic bromance that I can only describe as magical. So, yes, I am looking forward to 22 Jump Street. It very well could be more of the same, but I like the first one so much that I’m willing to take that risk.

#13: Jupiter Ascending (July 18)

Synopsis: “In a universe where humans are near the bottom of the evolutionary ladder, a young destitute human woman is targeted for assassination by the Queen of the Universe because her very existence threatens to end the Queen’s reign.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: A sci-fi adventure starring Mila Kunis, Channing Tatum, and Sean Bean? How could I NOT be interested in this? The trailer, though filled with action and intensity, still is a little unclear plotwise, but I think this one looks like it could be fun. Though I am a little thrown off by Tatum’s elf ears…

#14: Guardians of the Galaxy (Aug. 1)

guardians of the galaxy

Synopsis: “A jet pilot gets stranded in space, and must unite a diverse team of aliens to form a squad capable of defeating cosmic threats.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: I am extremely anxious for a trailer for this film, but alas—nothing yet. Marvel has been putting out a lot of great stuff lately, and I trust their judgment, but this…this is bizarre. A couple of aliens? Okay. I can do that. A talking tree? Well, Lord of the Rings pulled that off, I guess. A gun-toting raccoon? Wait, what?! I find this group of heroes fascinating, and I can’t wait to see how they come together. Also, after seeing him in a teaser clip after Thor: The Dark World, I think Benicio Del Toro’s Collector is going to be a great villain.

#15: Interstellar (Nov. 7)

Synopsis: “A group of explorers make use of a newly discovered wormhole to surpass the limitations on human space travel and conquer the vast distances involved in an interstellar voyage.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: This whole project is very mysterious, and so far we have only a vague teaser trailer to satisfy the curiosity surrounding Interstellar. Here’s what we know: Christopher Nolan is directing, he wrote the script with his brother, and it stars Anne Hathaway, Matthew McConaughey, Jessica Chastain, and Michael Caine, among others. That’s not much to go off of, but given that Nolan is involved, that’s enough for me. I’m in.

#16: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 (Nov. 21)

mockingjay

Synopsis: “Katniss Everdeen reluctantly becomes the symbol of a mass rebellion against the autocratic Capitol.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Given that Catching Fire just came out a little over a month ago, it’s understandable that there’s no trailer or movie posters floating around for this quite yet. However, after the way Catching Fire ended, I’m sure everyone will be on pins and needles until we get our first taste of the penultimate Hunger Games film. I think it’s a little silly that Mockingjay is being split into two films, but Jennifer Lawrence’s awesomeness might be enough to justify it.

#17: Horrible Bosses 2 (Nov. 26)

Horrible Bosses

Synopsis: A mystery!

Why I’m Interested: Wow. There is basically zero information on this film floating around right now. No trailer, no pics, no synopsis–nothing. So far, all I can find is that almost everyone from the original film is returning, plus Chris Pine and Christoph Waltz in mystery roles. I thought the first Horrible Bosses was a fun little comedy, and I’m hoping they can keep it up for round two. Let’s just cross our fingers that it doesn’t go the way of The Hangover Part II. Nobody wants that.

#18: The Hobbit: There and Back Again (Dec. 17)

the-hobbit-there-and-back-again

Synopsis: “The Company of Thorin has reached Smaug’s lair, but can Bilbo and the Dwarves reclaim Erebor and the treasure? And, if so, can they hold on to it?” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: Once again, not much info here–just a cool, unofficial pic I found. Though I didn’t love The Desolation of Smaug quite as much as I’d hoped, you can bet I’ll still be checking out the conclusion to this trilogy (which shouldn’t have been a trilogy, but whatever). So much of the book has already been covered in the two films that it’s going to come down to a lot of original content, so we’ll see what Jackson and co. has to offer. Regardless, Martin Freeman is always a joy to watch as lovable hobbit hero Bilbo.

#19: Into the Woods (Dec. 25)

into-the-woods-mery-streep-la-9-27-13

Synopsis: “A witch conspires to teach important lessons to various characters of popular children’s stories including Little Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk and Rapunzel.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: So far, all we have of this film is an awesome pic of Meryl Streep. I am extremely fond of this musical, and to see it with such a stellar cast (Streep, Johnny Depp, Anna Kendrick, and soooo many more) ought to be a real treat. My biggest concern is the music, which can be very, very tricky to sing, but I’m seeing some experienced singers in this bunch, so here’s hoping it works out. If you aren’t familiar with Into the Woods, it’s basically a bunch of fairy tales squished together into a surprisingly dark tale. A little strange, perhaps, but the show is phenomenal. If you can, try to see it before this film comes out.

#20: How to Catch a Monster (TBD)

Ryan Gosling directs Matt Smith in shirtless scenes for 'How To Catch A Monster' in Detroit

Synopsis: “A single mother is swept into a dark underworld, while her teenage son discovers a road that leads him to a secret underwater town.” –www.imdb.com

Why I’m Interested: This is another film with very little info to work with (just a random pic of Matt Smith and not even a release date!), but here’s what I’ve learned: it’s a fantasy film starring Saoirse Ronan, Eva Mendes, Matt Smith (that’s right, Doctor Who fans—get excited!), and a few lesser known folks, and this is also Ryan Gosling’s directorial debut. It seems like a fascinating choice for a first film, so I’m very interested to see what kind of director Mr. Gosling is going to be. Don Jon worked out okay for Joseph Gordon-Levitt, but I’m hoping for even greater success here.

Those are some of the ones I’m looking forward to, but what about you guys? Any films you have your eyes on? I’m always up for good recommendations, so let me know! Oh, sorry was I too loud again? Take some Tylenol, okay? 😉

P.S. Starting my Resolutions series with an extra special guest blogger tomorrow. Ought to be a fun start to a fun series!

35 thoughts on “The Skinny: 20 Films of 2014

  1. Great post (tips hat, scarf and whatever else I am fictionally holding) I have to read 10 for sure. 21 Jump Street was silly but fun, so hoping the sequel is in the same vein. I’m intruiged by Open Grave too.

    • Yeah I’ve not read The Fault in Our Stars, but I know a ton of people who’ve read it and loved it. Glad you like 21 Jump Street, too! You’re right–totally silly, but I still really enjoy it. I might not have paid any attention to Open Grave if I hadn’t seen some positive reviews of it here on WordPress, but now I’m pretty excited to check it out! Hope your 2014 has been excellent so far, friend! 🙂

    • Yeah I have pretty high hopes for Captain America and Interstellar. But I think The Lego Movie looks adorable! Guess we’ll find out how it is in a little over a month! 🙂

  2. GREAT POST Caramerica!

    1) I’m hoping to put something out about Open Grave tomorrow – but I have a lot of work to do today… : (

    2) WTF (am I allowed to write that without getting in trouble) is Matt Smith wearing?? Is that a (BLEEP)ing horse shoe???

    • Ooooh you watched Open Grave?? Did you like it?? Or do I have to wait and see tomorrow…? Hahaha YES you can write “WTF” silly! I’m not sure what exactly is going on with Matt’s threads. He looks like an interesting character…

  3. Great post! I didn’t know about a few of these. I’m looking forward to most of them! Interstellar the most maybe. Anything sci-if as it’s my favorite genre. And I really liked The Fault In Our Stars book so that’ll be interesting…

    • Yeah I can’t wait for Interstellar! Love Nolan. Now we just need to convince grumpy ol’ Brian to get excited about it (see above conversation). I’ve heard so many good things about The Fault in Our Stars! Think it’ll be a good adaptation?

  4. Good choices. How to Catch a Monster intrigues me, even though I know almost nothing about it. Seeing Matt Smith as someone other than the Doctor will be interesting. I’m also psyched for Guardians of the Galaxy, although I know my nerd is showing and many will not share my enthusiasm. Above all, however, I think the second Captain America is going to be amazing. It better be, at least, because the first was pretty disappointing.

Leave a Reply

