NOOOOvember: a brewing idea

disappointment

Woulda, coulda, shoulda. We’ve all gone into certain films with high expectations only to have those expectations crushed into fine powder by lackluster scripts, characters, endings, etc. And sometimes, we need to vent about those disappointments. With that in mind, the wheels started turning in my little head, and I thought, “Why not do a segment for that next month?” And then I came up with a series title: NOOOOvember.

I’m not totally sure I want to commit to anything as intense as Spook Series (I still have way too many movies to watch before the 31st), but I think I could have fun with this. However, I wouldn’t mind a little bit of crowd participation. Friends, readers, and fellow bloggers–would anyone like to join in on this? It doesn’t have to be a long write-up. I’m thinking just a synopsis, however many reasons you want to provide for what ruins the movie and/or what you’d change about it, and whatever other fun things you’d like to add. For example, I was thinking it’d be nice to suggest a “recovery movie” that might help someone get over the disappointment of the film you discuss.

So what do you say? Is anyone itching to vent about a movie that could’ve been so good but just…wasn’t? Or do you have any suggestions for films I could review? This idea is still very much in the planning process, but I think NOOOOvember could be a lot of fun. If anyone has any suggestions or would like to participate, please comment below, comment on Silver Screen Serenade’s Facebook page, or shoot me an email: cs227@evansville.edu.

P.S. Come back tomorrow for the continuation of Spook Series 2013! Horror-comedies are up next 🙂

15 thoughts on “NOOOOvember: a brewing idea

  1. That sounds like fun! I wouldn’t mind ranting about After Earth, or The Dark Knight Rises. I don’t know how busy i’ll be in November though because in November i’ll officially have three kids :]

  2. The worst possible movie I ever paid to see was Ishtar with Dustin Hoffman and Warren Beatty. Absolutely stunk. It’s been a really long time since I saw it so I don’t know how intelligently I could talk about it, but it was truly odious.

  3. Good idea. 🙂 I’ll *maybe* try to help you out but don’t want to commit just yet as I’m really busy at the moment & struggling to get anything done (in real life & blog life!). I’m doing horribly on my “horror fest” for October – only one review done & three watched. I better hurry up! But I do have Insidious to watch tonight so I’ll link to your Insidious 2 review again when I review it. I can mention this project when I link to your site if you want – maybe it’ll get some people wanting to sign up. Everyone loves a good bitch about a disappointing movie. 🙂

    • Well, I’d love for you to contribute something, but if you’re already very busy, I don’t want to overwhelm you. Just if you find the time and motivation! Definitely let me know what you think of Insidious, and feel free to link to all the stuff on my blog you want! Haha 😉

  4. I’m a new follower, but I totally love this idea. If you need a small submission I would gladly throw one out there for one of my big disappointments from last year (2012) I’ve been somewhat selective in 2013 so not too many stinkers on the books for this year.

    • Hey, V! Welcome, and thanks for the follow! You are more than welcome to submit something for NOOOOvember. I’m thrilled that you’re interested! I’m probably going to stick to shorter posts in bullet points for my submissions, but you’re free to do any kind of format you want. Just send it to the email address above whenever it’s all typed up and let me know if you have any questions. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Insidious (2011) Review for Halloween Horror Fest | Cinema Parrot Disco

Leave a Reply

