Best Halloween Films?

horror collage

Ok, movie people. I need some crowd participation.

Here’s the deal: I love Halloween, and though I know it’s still a good way off, I’m looking to the future. During the month of October, I intend to do series of posts each containing five or ten mini reviews of awesome horror/Halloweeny movies. However, I’m always looking for new things to watch, soooo…What are YOUR favorite movies to watch come Halloween?

I’m looking for a broad range of movies–classics, family-friendly, slashers, hauntings, etc. The more opinions the merrier! I look forward to hearing your opinions and maybe being introduced to some new favorites 🙂

Thanks!

Cara

14 thoughts on “Best Halloween Films?

  1. My two all-time favorites are The Shining & The Omen. Rosemary’s Baby is also great. Oh – and I guess all of Romero’s zombie films! (I never think of them as “horror” – they’re just favorite films of mine). And I always enjoy watching 70s & 80s slasher classics for Halloween (A Nightmare on Elm Street, Halloween, and cheesier things like Child’s Play as ALL of those seemed to be played on TV every October when I lived in America). Oh – and I always watch It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown without fail. Lol 🙂

    • Wow you’ve given me so many options!! I love The Shining–it will definitely be making an appearance on a list, as will The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown. And, yes, The Omen is now a must watch. I haven’t seen Rosemary’s Baby in forever, so that’s a rewatch for sure. And I’ve never seen Child’s Play! I’ve got a lotta watchin’ to do. Thanks for all the great input! Much obliged 🙂

  2. Halloween is my favorite holiday and therefore I am in horror movie heaven during the month of October! Halloween I and II, Phantasm, The Exorcist (uncut edition), Orphan (omg that movie creeped me out!!), The Amityville Horror (orig), ‘Salem’s Lot, Children of the Corn…(pretty much any classic Stephen King), I could on and on! 🙂

    • Awesome! Thanks, Cassie! Some of these will definitely be making an appearance on my posts (The Exorcist and Halloween without a doubt), and I’m excited to check out the ones I haven’t seen! Particularly the original Amityville Horror! I’ve only seen the remake.

Leave a Reply

