NOOOOvember 2013: The Hangover Part II

Hangover Part 2 Movie

Another day, another disappointment. Though the month is already more than halfway done (seriously, can you believe December is less than two weeks away?!), there are still a slew of disappointing films out there worth adding to NOOOOvember. If you’d like to see the movies covered in the series so far, simply check out the NOOOOvember 2013 Archives, where you can find reviews from myself and several beloved contributors. But for now, on with the show! Here’s another one of my biggest letdowns: The Hangover Part II.

When I saw the first Hangover film back in 2009, it was one of the funniest films I’d ever seen. Very immature, very bizarre, and very stupid, but also ridiculously hilarious. But then Part II came out in 2011, and it nearly ruined the first film for me. The franchise limped on after this lackluster sequel, producing a third (and, thank God, final) film earlier this year, but I think that most people can agree: the first Hangover probably should’ve been the last.

***WARNING: SPOILERS MAY FOLLOW***

The Hangover Part II (2011)

Hangover-16-500x375

Synopsis: “Two years after the bachelor party in Las Vegas, Phil, Stu, Alan, and Doug jet to Thailand for Stu’s wedding. Stu’s plan for a subdued pre-wedding brunch, however, goes seriously awry.” –www.imdb.com

The Excitement:

  • The Wolf Pack is BACK! And they appear to be as hilarious as ever. Can’t wait to see the gang together again!
  • It’s in Thailand? This ought to be interesting. Who knows what shenanigans they’ll get into there…
  • I think Mr. Chow might have a bigger role this time around, which is awesome because Ken Jeong cracks me up in the first film.
  • There’s a MONKEY. AN ADORABLE MONKEY IN A VEST. I am so in.

The Disappointment:

  • Zach Galifianakis’ Alan is a straight up tool. In the first film, he’s an odd yet endearing man-child. Here, he’s mostly a rude brat. It’s hard to find someone funny when you’re constantly annoyed.
  • Ed Helms’ Stu is suddenly getting married to Jamie Chung’s Lauren. I mean, good for him, but where did this come from? Whatever happened cheerful Jade (Heather Graham), the stripper with the heart of gold? Last we heard, she and Stu were married. Lauren is okay, but personally, I miss Jade…
  • The first scene with Chow is disgusting and incredibly stupid. I’d rather not go into detail, but let’s just say that I’ve seen enough of Ken Jeong’s business to last me a lifetime. When he popped out of the trunk naked in the first film, it’s shocking and hilarious. But this nude scene is just gross.
  • Whether he was under the influence or not, the fact that Stu cheats on his soon-to-be wife is much more troubling than it is funny. Is the additional information that he cheated with a transgender (or transsexual?) prostitute supposed to make it funny? More bizarre, perhaps, but sorry—still not laughing.
  • This is a small thing, but Stu’s song in Part II isn’t half as awesome as his tiger lullaby in the first film. Period.
  • Time to address the elephant in the room. THIS IS A CARBON COPY OF THE FIRST FILM. Seriously. Almost nothing changes. There’s a wedding on the way, four men get blackout wasted, one of them mysteriously vanishes, and the other three have to piece together the previous night to find him. The only difference is that the film is in Bangkok instead of Vegas. After the freshness of the first film, this one feels cheap and unoriginal. The Hangover is simply recycled with a few darker, raunchier bits thrown in. And those bits don’t help.

How to Recover: I’ve been forgetting to add recovery films! For this, I would suggest one of two films, depending on your mood. If you’re sick of silly boys, give Bridesmaids a shot. It restored my faith in comedies in 2011, and it also reminded me how many awesome lady comedians there are out there. But if you’re looking for another bro film, look no further than sci-fi comedy This Is the End. So funny. One of my new favorites.

That wraps up another film disappointment! More to come! Also, keep in mind that if you’d like to contribute to NOOOOvember, you have 12 days left this month! I mean, I guess I could continue this as DISSember, but I’d like to do something more positive for the holidays. Haha. ;)

23 thoughts on “NOOOOvember 2013: The Hangover Part II

    • I loooove Bridesmaids. Everyone in that film cracks me up. As for The Hangover, you should definitely watch the first one because it’s hilarious. Just don’t waste your time with the other two.

  1. Nice review – I didn’t watch this (or the third) as I didn’t think the first one was very good. I must have been in a bad mood that day as a lot of people liked it. A real shame when people just re-hash entire plots though.

    • Well, even the first one isn’t for everyone, but I’d say give it another chance! I’ve heard some people say they liked it better the second time they watched. But yeah–don’t watch the second or third. Haha.

  2. Great review. :-) Have to say I didn’t LOVE the first film (it was okay, though). But I saw about five minutes of the second one and it looked BAD. :-/ Why do they feel the need to make inferior sequels to everything??

Leave a Reply

